PDA

View Full Version : G3 iMac of any use?




yoak
Jan 19, 2006, 04:15 PM
Hi.
In the technique room where I´m currently working I saw an old graphite iMac standing in a corner collecting dust.
It seemed a bit sad and I was thinking of asking them if I could take it home if no one was using it any longer.
Qustion is will it just keep collecting dust in my home or could I put it to any use?

I´m not sure of what model it is, but I did see that it had the slot loading optical drive. I´m sure some of you guys know:)

EDIT I looked up on Wikipedia and realized it could be from between 1999-2001



Eidorian
Jan 19, 2006, 04:25 PM
Does it still boot? It'd be nice to know some more about it. Anything about its case color? We can figure out what to do with it with that info. :D

Music server? Kids computer?

strider42
Jan 19, 2006, 04:31 PM
That machine will run the latest OS, can take up to 1 gig of ram, you could upgrade the hard drive too if you wanted. What to use it for depends. It could be a music server, secondary computer in another room. Nice little machine really. i've got an older iMac than that and it still works fine for what I need it to do.

Eidorian
Jan 19, 2006, 04:35 PM
Yeah, I have a Power Mac G3 400 (OC 450) and it's a great machine to watch DVD's, video, and web surf on.

Angelus520
Jan 19, 2006, 04:35 PM
A friend is still using an iMac DV400 (Indigo) that she bought used in 2004. She'd been using an HP that thankfully died and I talked her into a Mac but she didn't want to spend a ton of money.

She runs Office, iTunes, and Safari with it. I tried to talk her into upgrading to a Mac mini but she loves the look of the old iMacs and it does just fine with what she uses it for. I helped her max out the RAM to 1GB and it's pretty zippy even with Jaguar.

I still see a lot of the old G3s in use in a lot of offices for administrative tasks. If it still boots there's still probably a lot of life left in it.

Check out http://www.lowendmac.com for more info on older Macs.

plinden
Jan 19, 2006, 04:37 PM
My wife's sister has a 600MHz G4 iMac (graphite) that she uses for email, writing docs and storing her digital photos. It only has 128MB RAM and is running OS 9.1 but was still pretty responsive last time I played with it. Seems just as useful as my 1.8GHz Dell, more so since the Dell's registry got corrupted.

Try turning it on and see what its specs are.

yoak
Jan 19, 2006, 04:38 PM
Does it still boot? It'd be nice to know some more about it. Anything about its case color? We can figure out what to do with it with that info. :D

Music server? Kids computer?

It´s graphite, I asume it boots as they haven´t thrown it away.
My daughter is only 4 months, so I´m not sure how interseted she´ll be;)

My wife mostly use our ibook for surfing the web, so I guess I could get her to use the imac.

Music server sounds intersting, I need to look into that.

Eidorian
Jan 19, 2006, 04:39 PM
My wife's sister has a 600MHz G4 iMac (graphite) that she uses for email, writing docs and storing her digital photos. It only has 128MB RAM and is running OS 9.1 but was still pretty responsive last time I played with it. Seems just as useful as my 1.8GHz Dell.

Try turning it on and see what its specs are.Get RAM, seriously. I have 1 GB in my G3 B&W and it's FAST for a G3. It boots almost as fast as my iMac G5.

ReanimationLP
Jan 19, 2006, 04:41 PM
I still have a Blueberry iMac G3, boots into Panther smoothly and is very nicely.

yoak
Jan 19, 2006, 04:41 PM
My wife's sister has a 600MHz G4 iMac (graphite) that she uses for email, writing docs and storing her digital photos. It only has 128MB RAM and is running OS 9.1 but was still pretty responsive last time I played with it. Seems just as useful as my 1.8GHz Dell, more so since the Dell's registry got corrupted.

Try turning it on and see what its specs are.

I´ll try next week. Problem is I only go in there to pick up the camera I´m using so usualy I don´t have much time in there:(

tdhurst
Jan 19, 2006, 05:05 PM
Send it this way. I have a 400mhz DV G3 iMac and a 500mhz G3 iMac running Panther like champs. Replaced their tiny 10 and 20 gig hard drives with cheap, 40 gig internals, added a bit of RAM and use them at work for email/word processor machines.

There is still a lot of life left in those puppies...

Note...not that I would use them though...too used to my 1.5ghz powerbook at this point...;)

tomacintosh
Jan 19, 2006, 05:39 PM
Seeing as it's a graphite is going to have at least a 400mhz CPU and it could be a 700mhz if your lucky. I just bought one for my gf, gonna stick a 40gb HDD and 1GB of ram, it should run OSX ok. All she wants it for is web surfing and to share her net around the house via Airport (so she can sit downstairs by the fire with her iBook lol)

Kyle Nerder
Jan 19, 2006, 07:06 PM
I love 'em. I have collected 3 from a friend with computer scrap yard. I would take a old iMac over any PC any day.

They are perfect for simple tasks like web surfing, email, music and word.

joepunk
Jan 19, 2006, 07:13 PM
I love the style of the crt iMacs.

If I had a 400MHz+ I would use it as a music server, possibly a scanner station, and/or play some older games like Riven that just is not possible on my current iMac or PB in sig. They do make great computers for little kids who want to draw, type, goof around, etc. My 5 year old niece likes to use the hockey puck mouse as it fits her hand better.

bookofjames
Jan 19, 2006, 08:08 PM
yep. I just bought a 2nd hand 400MHz Indigo (got a great deal for it) and slapped on 512 + 128 RAM on it. Installed Tiger and its zipping along nicely. Surfing, simple text editing is no problem at all.

Macs are simply GREAT! (sorry couldn't resist)

California
Jan 19, 2006, 09:04 PM
As I've written on MR before G3 iMacs are great and indestructible machines. Especially the firewire ones -- over 400mhz. My mom had a G3500 with a gig of ram and 7200rpm hd until ... yesterday when I convinced my seventy year old mom and stepfather to get a new G5 iMac.

They are going to take classes on .mac tomorrow at the new local Apple Store. iLife and iWork classes, too. He still likes the G3 iMac so he's going to keep it and let my mom use the new one. Jobs' scrapbooking with grandma on iLife and .mac won me over.

But I still have SEVEN other friends with iMac G3s that I helped set up for them. Great computers. Ram and better hard drive is the answer for them.

P.S. I've only seen one poster on MR who ever had a 700mhz iMac G3. Would love to see one of those up close.

EricNau
Jan 19, 2006, 09:12 PM
I know the perfect use for it...
Finding a cure for diseases such as Alzheimer's, Huntington's, Parkinson's, and Cancer. Link to Folding@Home (http://folding.stanford.edu/)

It is very easy to set up, and once you download the program, you don't need to do anything more. In fact, the computer can do this while sitting in the corner and collecting dust. :p

Make sure you join the MacRumors Team. :) Link (http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=3446)

yoak
Jan 20, 2006, 07:35 AM
Hi again.
Seems like a lot of people have a fondness for the original iMac (me included).
The fact that I couldn´t afford it when they came out (poor student at the time using a Performa 5400, my first Mac) makes me really wan´t one now.
I hope they let me have it.

What kind of internet connection do they have? Can I connect it to my broadband at home?

Eidorian
Jan 20, 2006, 07:48 AM
What kind of internet connection do they have? Can I connect it to my broadband at home?The Original Bondi Blue iMac has an Ethernet 10/100 jack on it.

Chundles
Jan 20, 2006, 07:49 AM
My mate's a graphic designer in a small town on the border between NSW and Vic and his business computers are B&W G3's but his main home computer is a 600MHz graphite iMac. It's a ripper, currently he's running Jaguar and 256MB RAM and is unlikely to upgrade (he doesn't make a huge amount of money and what little he does make goes towards other things) but it's a great little computer. I certainly can feel the difference in speed between my iBook and his iMac (well I'd hope so considering the raw clock speed of mine is 2x faster than his) but it's still no slouch. I think it's Jaguar that hurts it though - I don't like having to use anything less than Panther (F9!! Where the hell is that window?? Oh yeah, no exposé....).

Good little machine though...

doucy2
Jan 20, 2006, 07:50 AM
that thing can be great
i had a graphite 500mhz dv se it ram was upgraded to 512mb and it ran tiger swell
if it would of had panther or jag on it it would have been even faster

codepoet80
Jan 20, 2006, 07:51 AM
P.S. I've only seen one poster on MR who ever had a 700mhz iMac G3. Would love to see one of those up close.

I had one, I'll spoil it for you: they look exactly the same as the 500Mhz ones ;)

rjphoto
Jan 20, 2006, 08:02 AM
What kind of internet connection do they have? Can I connect it to my broadband at home?

Sure can. I have 2 Graphite iMacs.

They have ethernet for wired connection, an Airport slot for an old Airport Card (with and adapter) or you could use a USB wireless adapter (that's what I set up for my son).

If it will boot you can upgrade the ROM (found on Apple's support pages) and then upgrade to OSX 10.3.* with enough RAM.

If it will come on but won't boot up it could be the Hard drive, RAM could be missing or the clock battery could be dead (well that may not keep it from booting).

It can't hurt to ask for it.

Good luck.

Oh, by the way, both of mine were free and needed a little work.

yoak
Jan 20, 2006, 08:04 AM
I will put Panther on it if I get it, I´m an Exposé junkie as well.

California
Jan 29, 2006, 06:41 AM
I had one, I'll spoil it for you: they look exactly the same as the 500Mhz ones ;)


I know they look alike -- shoulda said I wanted to play with one up close and personal! ;) Do you still have it? Musta been pretty fast for its day.

disconap
Jan 29, 2006, 06:33 PM
Just to add to all the positives, we have an indigo imac in the office that our interns use, it's perfect for anything not too intensive (I actually think it runs Filemaker and browsers better than my sawtooth). We use it mostly for music and for data entry, email, and web browsing. But follow the advice in this thread--up the RAM! Also, I never suggest running anything higher than 10.2 on a G3 (unless you have at least a gig of RAM)--no steadfast rule, I've just found that the later OSs tend to be processor hogs, and sometimes the G3s seem to struggle with them. Again, just advice, and I'm sure there are plenty of people on here who would argue with me on that...

Dustintendo
Jan 29, 2006, 08:21 PM
my parents have a snow 700mhz g3 imac that they bought on ebay not too long ago... it needs a new hard drive though, as the one in it is very noisy

DakotaGuy
Jan 29, 2006, 08:49 PM
I have 2 of them in my 5th grade classroom along with some PC's. They are the last 2 Macs left in the school. One is a Blueberry DV 400Mhz and the other is an Indigo DV 450Mhz. The Blueberry has 320MB of RAM and the Indigo has 512MB of RAM. Both have 10.3.9 on them. The kids love them and we have to draw names to see who gets to use the "cool" computers and who has to use the PC's. It is funny.

senseibiz
Jan 29, 2006, 09:28 PM
I have a question..... My friend purchased an imac snow 500mhz.
he wants to purchase a wireless router that would work with it.
right now its running the lates os x. he would like to get a wireless router to hook up the xbox 360 wirelessly with the xbox adpater.
I don't think he wants to spend $200 on the airport extreme base station.

any ideas on wich wireless router he can use with the imac.

your help is appreciated..

disconap
Jan 29, 2006, 10:23 PM
Pretty much every base station wll work with Airport or any other wireless network. Just go down to Best Buy or your local electronics store, grab the one you want, and ask a salesman if it's Mac compatible (geenrally they are).

As for routers, the imac used the original airport card, which sells for around $120 now that it's discontinued. But you can use many different kinds of wireless networking solutions; there are knock off versions of that, PCI cards (pointless for you, of course) or the easiest solution ($45-75, depending where you find it) is the D-link DWL122 (I use it with our imac, it works quite well). There are other models, but I haven't tested them...

yoak
Apr 6, 2006, 09:41 AM
Just a little update.
I don´t work in this place anylonger as I´freelancing, so I sent the tech guy a sms today asking if the would part with their iMac now since the finacial year is over. (They had to keep them in storage for book keeping reasons).
Good news, he was ready to "serve" me an iMac as he so kindly put it. I can pick it up in the next couple of days:)

PS Since this thread was started, I have ordered 20" iMac that I expect on my door in the next couple of days. Where to put them all:eek:

sunfast
Apr 6, 2006, 09:56 AM
Just a little update.
I don´t work in this place anylonger as I´freelancing, so I sent the tech guy a sms today asking if the would part with their iMac now since the finacial year is over. (They had to keep them in storage for book keeping reasons).
Good news, he was ready to "serve" me an iMac as he so kindly put it. I can pick it up in the next couple of days:)

PS Since this thread was started, I have ordered 20" iMac that I expect on my door in the next couple of days. Where to put them all:eek:

You've fallen on your feet there. Wish my work had old macs lying around :(

yoak
Apr 6, 2006, 10:06 AM
I know, it´s amazing.
They had anotherone next to it (older tray loading) quite beaten up. It felt sad to see them there, so I´m glad I could give one of them a new home.
I´m thinking of putting it into my daughters room, she´s only 6 months, but better get used to mac´s I suppose;)

yoak
Apr 6, 2006, 10:14 AM
I think I have forgot to mention that I did boot it up and everything seemed fine. No keyboard was connected so I only saw that everything came up on the screen. Guess it´s good enough for now

aquajet
Apr 6, 2006, 10:15 AM
P.S. I've only seen one poster on MR who ever had a 700mhz iMac G3. Would love to see one of those up close.

I used to have one. It looks just like any other slotload iMac. ;)

yoak
Apr 8, 2006, 03:17 AM
That machine will run the latest OS, can take up to 1 gig of ram, you could upgrade the hard drive too if you wanted. What to use it for depends. It could be a music server, secondary computer in another room. Nice little machine really. i've got an older iMac than that and it still works fine for what I need it to do.

Excuse my ignorance, but I never had more than one computer before. How would I go about to use it as a music server?
From what I understand the Graphite iMac has at least 13gig HD, so I could quite a bit of music on it