PDA

View Full Version : Menu Bar Help




monke
Jan 21, 2006, 09:42 PM
I am trying to make a menu bar for my site, and can't seem to come up with anything I like.

I like the one on the http://hmdt-web.net/shiira/enShiira (http://hmdt-web.net/shiira/en) website.

Do they use images for the rollovers? I can't seem to find it in the code.

I am having trouble creating rollovers, they work fine (In both Imageready and Dreamweaver) until I upload them.
Any advice?



dornoforpyros
Jan 21, 2006, 09:50 PM
what's wrong with your uploading them? My first guess would be to make sure you've also uploaded the "over" states for your buttons.

xelterran
Jan 21, 2006, 10:38 PM
LOoks like a varient of the sliding doors technique (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/slidingdoors/)

They use the same image (http://hmdt-web.net/shiira/English/res/bg_menu.gif) for each button then change its possition with css..

http://www.alistapart.com/articles/slidingdoors/

monke
Jan 22, 2006, 09:10 PM
what's wrong with your uploading them? My first guess would be to make sure you've also uploaded the "over" states for your buttons.

I have no idea why they don't work.
Check me and see where I go wrong:
Make the page in photoshop, then the rollovers in imageready.
Save as .html file with the images and html.
Open in dreamweaver.
Apply text.
Save again, over imageready .html file.
Upload the .html file, and the images folder.


LOoks like a varient of the sliding doors technique

They use the same image for each button then change its possition with css..

http://www.alistapart.com/articles/slidingdoors/

Thanks for finding that out, but can I still do the same using rollover, once I fix my troubles?

monke
Feb 1, 2006, 08:22 PM
Forget everything I said above, I have found out how to create rollovers without running into problems.

Looking at source codes from a variety of websites I found out that their rollover load when the page loads.
That was my answer right then and there.
When my page loads, none of the rollover images load with it.
Using the 'Behaviors' function in Dreamweaver I was able to create seamless rollovers. Which Loaded!

I spent hours trying to get it to work, while all it took was a few clicks and it worked.

-iNeedtoSwitch (Extremely Happy, for now :))

Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 1, 2006, 08:27 PM
Before you go into complete Dreamweaver rollover mode, checkout Suckerfish Dropdowns (http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/). Very nice (almost completely pure**) CSS menus... :)

(** Just a little JavaScript for IE compatibility...)

monke
Feb 2, 2006, 06:42 PM
Before you go into complete Dreamweaver rollover mode, checkout Suckerfish Dropdowns (http://www.htmldog.com/articles/suckerfish/dropdowns/). Very nice (almost completely pure**) CSS menus... :)

(** Just a little JavaScript for IE compatibility...)

Thanks for the suggestion, but I don't need the dropdown menu items.

Just in case though, can you make those using images?

Mitthrawnuruodo
Feb 2, 2006, 06:46 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, but I don't need the dropdown menu items.

Just in case though, can you make those using images?I haven't tried, actually (no need to use images when you use CSS ;)). Probably could make it work somehow, though I'm not entirely sure...