PDA

View Full Version : When will iBooks be Extreme?

Chuck
Jan 15, 2003, 06:04 PM
I'm an Australian freelance graphic designer and waited til MWSF to work out what new hardware to order. I was thinking about getting an iMac17 and a laptop but Apple produced the perfect solution with the Alu17 PB, so I've ordered that with the Airport Extreme base-station...

...However I was also going to order an iBook for my wife, who's about to finish work for good (baby due in 6 weeks), and since they don't currently accept the high speeds of Extreme, we've decided to wait until they come out with an iBook that uses the Extreme card.

Any ideas when that might be? It is 'the year of the laptop' after all, and we can't wait forever...

Graham Clarke
http://www.madebydesign.net

AWishForNoOne
Jan 15, 2003, 10:12 PM
some people have speculated that iBook revisons are do in February but i think that a completely new and redesigned (maybe not a lot though) iBooks will be released in April or May with the airport extreme amongst some other new features. But the real question here seems to be whether the 54 mbps will really be neccessary. No internet connection (to my knowledge) runs even close to that so the only reason that you would want airport extreme is for MASSIVE file sharing but otherwise i would just go and by an iBook now.

alset
Jan 15, 2003, 11:20 PM
Originally posted by AWishForNoOne
some people have speculated that iBook revisons are do in February but i think that a completely new and redesigned (maybe not a lot though) iBooks will be released in April or May with the airport extreme amongst some other new features. But the real question here seems to be whether the 54 mbps will really be neccessary. No internet connection (to my knowledge) runs even close to that so the only reason that you would want airport extreme is for MASSIVE file sharing but otherwise i would just go and by an iBook now.