PDA

View Full Version : just upgraded a G3 iMac to Tiger and it won't boot




Kyle Nerder
Feb 18, 2006, 03:59 PM
Just upgraded a G3 iMac (350) to Tiger and it won't boot. It will make it as far as the desktop, but the menu bar won't load up, just the spotlight button. When I bring the mouse over the spotlight button, the cursor shows the spinning wheel.

I have left if running for like half hour and no progress. I tried reseting everything and still no progress.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction!



748s
Feb 18, 2006, 06:31 PM
the 350 iMac is not supported.
10.3.9 is the last OS able to run on 350's.
maybe xpostfacto will help
http://eshop.macsales.com/OSXCenter/XPostFacto/

mactracker
http://homepage.mac.com/ipage/mactracker/downloads/macosx.html

e˛Studios
Feb 18, 2006, 06:52 PM
Find your iMac in this list.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86117

I believe this is the update you need http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60384

Then run the updater for it, that should solve the issues you are having.

I am surprised you got that far without the update, my iMac went in to a black screen without it. I run 10.4.5 on the iMac in my sig so i dont see why you cannot either. The list actually says you should be able to run 10.4.x, run the updater :)

Ed

mjstew33
Feb 18, 2006, 06:59 PM
Find your iMac in this list.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86117

I believe this is the update you need http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60384

Then run the updater for it, that should solve the issues you are having.

I am surprised you got that far without the update, my iMac went in to a black screen without it. I run 10.4.5 on the iMac in my sig so i dont see why you cannot either. The list actually says you should be able to run 10.4.x, run the updater :)

EdHmmm, that's weird. I ran Mac OS X 10.2.8 great on my old 333MHz iMac, no problems. And now on a 500MHz iMac, I run 10.4.4(need to update to 10.4.5). I never ran the updates.

No problems. Hmmmm...

mmmcheese
Feb 18, 2006, 07:31 PM
Any reason why you want Tiger on it? My iBook G3 800MHz runs like a dog with 10.4. 10.3 runs great though, so unless you need 10.4 for something, I would stick with 10.3.

mr_matalino
Feb 18, 2006, 07:39 PM
Any reason why you want Tiger on it? My iBook G3 800MHz runs like a dog with 10.4. 10.3 runs great though, so unless you need 10.4 for something, I would stick with 10.3.

Don't dogs run pretty fast?

e˛Studios
Feb 18, 2006, 07:39 PM
Any reason why you want Tiger on it? My iBook G3 800MHz runs like a dog with 10.4. 10.3 runs great though, so unless you need 10.4 for something, I would stick with 10.3.

Whats wrong with your iBook? I actually saw a performance increase from 10.3 to 10.4 on the iBook in my sig.

lilstewart, As far as not having to run that update if you bought the computer used maybe it was run previous to you owning it, it had to be run prior to installing 10.x on any iMac G3 according to apple.

disconap
Feb 18, 2006, 08:38 PM
Just a guess on the ibook, but probably RAM and/or hd space. I have an ibook G3 700mHz, and it's only get 384 RAM and a 10gig HD. I wouldn't even consider Tiger on that thing...

mmmcheese
Feb 18, 2006, 11:16 PM
Whats wrong with your iBook? I actually saw a performance increase from 10.3 to 10.4 on the iBook in my sig.

lilstewart, As far as not having to run that update if you bought the computer used maybe it was run previous to you owning it, it had to be run prior to installing 10.x on any iMac G3 according to apple.


I don't think there's anything wrong with my machine...just sometimes, the whole system feels slow and sluggish. I get more "beach balls" than I did with 10.3. 10.3 was much faster than 10.2 though.

California
Feb 18, 2006, 11:44 PM
TIger needs 512mb to run well; this is why the memory was bumped up to 512mb on all 2005 Macs.

I have 1gb of memory in a 500mhz iMac G3 running Tiger GREAT.

mmmcheese
Feb 18, 2006, 11:52 PM
TIger needs 512mb to run well; this is why the memory was bumped up to 512mb on all 2005 Macs.

I have 1gb of memory in a 500mhz iMac G3 running Tiger GREAT.

Unfortunately the iBook tops out at 640MB.

If I had to guess, I'd say it's because the number of new features they added (widgets, spotlight, etc.) and the added memory/cpu time used. I expect things are more optimized for G4 and above as well, since they probably don't want to think about the G3 so much. But I could be wrong.

Anyway, I didn't want to crash on the original thread, I just thought the poster might want to take that into consideration.

California
Feb 19, 2006, 03:05 AM
Unfortunately the iBook tops out at 640MB.

If I had to guess, I'd say it's because the number of new features they added (widgets, spotlight, etc.) and the added memory/cpu time used. I expect things are more optimized for G4 and above as well, since they probably don't want to think about the G3 so much. But I could be wrong.

Anyway, I didn't want to crash on the original thread, I just thought the poster might want to take that into consideration.

I run Tiger as if it were Panther -- rarely using widgets and any other CPU hog. Sixforty mbs of ram is enough to run Tiger on an iBook G3.

Kyle Nerder
Feb 20, 2006, 07:49 AM
Finally I got it! I had to reinstall Tiger with the HD in a enclosure running from my PowerMac. Then I had to do all the updates on that drive running off my PowerMac and then put the drive back in the iMac and it runs great. Well it runs great for what it is.

It is currently running 256mb of ram with a 200GB HD. I am going to use it as a iTunes server.

California
Feb 20, 2006, 01:34 PM
Finally I got it! I had to reinstall Tiger with the HD in a enclosure running from my PowerMac. Then I had to do all the updates on that drive running off my PowerMac and then put the drive back in the iMac and it runs great. Well it runs great for what it is.

It is currently running 256mb of ram with a 200GB HD. I am going to use it as a iTunes server.

Run delocalizer (google it) and get extra and unwannted Tiger language files off the hard drive.