PDA

View Full Version : Anyone successfully hosting Yahoo domain elsewhere?




emaja
Feb 22, 2006, 10:35 PM
I have a domain registered with Yahoo - $2.97 a year was a great deal - so I locked it in for 3 years for what most others were charging for one. I put in the DH name servers in the Yahoo control panel and I was able to access the site and upload stuff to it with Transmit to the DH servers. So far, so good.

Now I got to upload some more and it gives me a password error in Transmit. I try to go to the domain using Camino and get the Yahoo "under construction" page.

I double checked in the Yahoo control panel and the DH name servers are still listed, but when I try to access the site I still get the Yahoo place holder page.

I want to host the site at DreamHost and I thought it was simply a matter of changing name servers like DH describes, but for some reason Yahoo keeps flipping me back to their "under construction" page.

I did a Google search and I am not the only one with this problem, but no one seems to have a solution. Since the domain is new, I cannot transfer it to DH yet. Yes, I can forward the domain, but I signed up to have Yahoo register my domain and that's all I want them to do.

Any ideas?



emaja
Feb 22, 2006, 10:52 PM
Now it is back with DreamHost. It is like they are fighting over my domain and go back and forth.

frankblundt
Feb 22, 2006, 11:24 PM
I can take a while (sometimes 24 hours or so) for the DNS records (of what IP address your domain name refers to) to be copied up and down the chain of DNS Servers.

So until the particular DNS Server you're using for your internet connection (or one further up its chain) gets the updated reference from Yahoo it will keep sending you to the old one.

mwpeters8182
Feb 23, 2006, 12:22 AM
I host my Yahoo domain with Dreamhost, but it took a day or so for things to go through.

emaja
Feb 23, 2006, 07:46 AM
OK, I'll just be patient then - not my best quality.

emaja
Feb 27, 2006, 12:38 AM
It took almost 3 days for everything to be transferred over to DH's DNS, but it did and all is well.

I have got to work on my patience...

steveedge
Feb 27, 2006, 02:12 PM
Technically, Domains may take up to 72 hours to propagate throughout the internet. Out of about 50 I have done this month, only one took that long, most will resolve after a couple of hours, but it does happen occasionally.