PDA

View Full Version : Quark vs Indesign

CathC
Feb 28, 2006, 04:12 AM
Hello there: It seems everyone is swearing by In Design these days. I know the switch has to be made, but after using Quark for so long (on an LC way back when!), I am really resistant. For one thing, I have a real problem with all those windows! I like a clean screen; even in Photoshop and Illustrator it drives me crazy. Also, I do mostly textbooks, while most of the InDesign believers I've read seem to be graphic artists dealing in brochures, magazine ads, etc. How well does In Design handle large multipage files with many different elements? Any advice or encouragement would be appreciated.

mcadam
Feb 28, 2006, 08:02 AM
While I'm far from being a graphics pro (I'm an architect) I've been using InDesign a lot lately for little booklets of up to 20 pages. And for me it simply rocks. I thought it was great at handling text.

And adressing your issue w. lots of little windows and toolbars - press tab in any adobe application and they all vanish, leaving you with just the document and your keyboard-shortcuts. Tab again and they come back. I like that feature.

My, erhm, one cent...

A

tobefirst
Feb 28, 2006, 08:15 AM
With specific regards to your last question, I recently finished up a directory of physicians for the hospital I work for. 106 page book, with many different styles and elements. InDesign handled it with flying colors. I got kudos from my client on how efficient the process was, and how well everything went and how well it turned out.

You're very right in saying that InDesign is menu heavy. This does take getting used to, but I've found that, not only have I grown accustomed to it, I actually prefer it to the just-as-prevalent pop-up boxes in Quark. Also, it helps if you dock all the palettes to the left and right edge of the screen, where they can "hide" when not in use.