PDA

View Full Version : Set iBook not to sleep when closing cover how?

ElCamino
Mar 5, 2006, 04:34 AM
I'm new to MAC OS X this iBookG4 is my first ever MAC product and wanted to know if there is a way to set some settings so that when I close the lid it won't go to sleep. I would like for it to stay on because I have hooked up my 42" Plasma and would like to close the lid and not have it go to sleep. Also would like not have it go to sleep when I'm just using it also and close the lid.

robbieduncan
Mar 5, 2006, 04:47 AM
Officially you can't. Apple only support "clamshell" mode on PowerBooks (and only then if they are woken up once closed by a USB or Bluetooth device). There may well be a hack to enable clamshell mode on iBooks but it's probably not a good idea as the iBook may overheat.

Chundles
Mar 5, 2006, 04:58 AM
I'm new to MAC OS X this iBookG4 is my first ever MAC product and wanted to know if there is a way to set some settings so that when I close the lid it won't go to sleep. I would like for it to stay on because I have hooked up my 42" Plasma and would like to close the lid and not have it go to sleep. Also would like not have it go to sleep when I'm just using it also and close the lid.

OK, you don't want to do that, the iBook cools primarily via the heat escaping from the keyboard. If you block that, you'll bust your iBook very quickly. The PowerBook/MacBook Pro is designed to route heat differently and as such can be run with the lid closed.

Oh, and just so the nitpickers don't tear you to shreds. It's Mac, not MAC and it's an Apple product, not a Mac product.

ElCamino
Mar 5, 2006, 05:43 AM