PDA

View Full Version : new powermac architecture


k2k koos
Jan 27, 2003, 02:50 PM
Hey all out there, perhaps someone can enlighten me with this:
If Apple is (very secretly) concerned about the performance of their Powermacs (which I think are gorgeous regardless of the fact that they are a little slower than top spec PC's, and on average they just work very well, but hey it's a Mac isn't it!) Why not put the Power4 processor in it instead of developing a spin off called 970.... I mean isn't that CPU allready out there, or would it not work that well, i'm a bit confused, don't know that much about CPU's but I am curious, so is there anyone who can tell me that I am
A: an idiot and should not have come up with this stupid question, or
B: a genius who should be employed by Apple as a 'bright idea man'....
C: think too different....

FelixDerKater
Jan 27, 2003, 03:11 PM
Put a Power4 into a consumer desktop system? I don't think you have any idea of the price of a Power4 chip. The pricing would be outrageous. Maybe for a high-end workstation, but not a normal desktop...

Telomar
Jan 27, 2003, 03:11 PM
This has been gone over about a thousand times but suffice to say the POWER4 is too costly. Unless you want to pay $50 000 for your next powermac you don't want it using a POWER4.

FelixDerKater
Jan 27, 2003, 03:21 PM
Take a look there for some basic pricing. Of course an Apple desktop would have less RAM and HD size, but the price is still too high.

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver/pseries/hardware/workstations/

pgwalsh
Jan 27, 2003, 03:29 PM
Price is no object. I'm ready to put my ski mask on and run out of the store with it.

strider42
Jan 27, 2003, 03:34 PM
aside from pricing, the power4 is very power hungry and very large. It is not suitable in any way for a desktop application. If the power4 was a suitable desktop chip, IBM would have just used that for its products instead of developing the 970 (remember, its IBM thats making the 970, not apple. Apple has nothing to do with the chip design)

Fender2112
Jan 27, 2003, 03:44 PM
Think of it as buying an 18 wheeler when all you need is a pick up.

FelixDerKater
Jan 27, 2003, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by Fender2112
Think of it as buying an 18 wheeler when all you need is a pick up.

Think of it as buying a cargo jet when all you need is a minivan. :p

Dont Hurt Me
Jan 27, 2003, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by strider42
aside from pricing, the power4 is very power hungry and very large. It is not suitable in any way for a desktop application. If the power4 was a suitable desktop chip, IBM would have just used that for its products instead of developing the 970 (remember, its IBM thats making the 970, not apple. Apple has nothing to do with the chip design) Dont be so sure it is using the same instruction set as altivec 162

strider42
Jan 27, 2003, 05:50 PM
Originally posted by Dont Hurt Me
Dont be so sure it is using the same instruction set as altivec 162

apple didn't invent altivec either. Its possible they may have had some input into IBM including the vector processing unit, but they still have nothing to do with the design of the chip. Apple doesn't know anything about it, and apple is not the reason this chip is going to exist (IBM itself will be a major user of it)

Vector
Jan 27, 2003, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by FelixDerKater
Take a look there for some basic pricing. Of course an Apple desktop would have less RAM and HD size, but the price is still too high.

http://www-1.ibm.com/servers/eserver/pseries/hardware/workstations/

On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?

MacCoaster
Jan 27, 2003, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by Vector
On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?
They have onboard L2 of 1 MB! Plus, they run AIX, not Linux.

I think this is the very reason that IBM is developing the 970, 980, and 990--their workstations are getting old and expensive: no one's buying it, I'd guess.

bousozoku
Jan 27, 2003, 07:43 PM
Originally posted by Vector


On this page there is a computer RS/6000 43P Model 150. Can anyone tell me why this thing is soo expensive when it is using a 604e powerpc processor? Did i miss a certain feature or is this computer just a really expensive box using a processor that was used back in the ANS 700 and from the PowerMac 7600 through 9600?

This machine is pre-configured with the operating system and unlimited licenses. The ready-to-go models are more expensive.

There is also the matter of the graphics hardware which, while entry level, would probably be over $800 otherwise.

Serial Storage Architecture is included in the basic design of the machine.

IBM's always excellent hardware diagnostics are included, complete with front panel status lights. The Wintel PCs from IBM do not get anything like this and would cost much more if they had them.

Btw, what's an ANS 700? (looks like a silly question to me) :)

rainman::|:|
Jan 27, 2003, 07:55 PM
RS/6000 44P Model 270_
from $47,697.00
IBM Web price*
Monitor not included

You, know, for a $48 thousand computer, they could at least throw in the monitor :rolleyes:

:D
pnw

Fender2112
Jan 27, 2003, 08:17 PM
One question. At these insane prices, who uses this type of computer. The ad mentions 3D, CAD, and visualization. What can they do that a high end Mac can't do. I can't imagine spending that much for something that becomes obsolete in two or three years.

MrMacMan
Jan 27, 2003, 09:10 PM
Originally posted by pgwalsh
Price is no object. I'm ready to put my ski mask on and run out of the store with it.

With that kind of price that is the only way the Power4 is gonna make it off the shelves.

The Power4 is a very power hungry chip, it is needy and we don't like chips to be needy.

If we wanted we could use them on some Uber-High class xServe but not likely at all.

holmesf
Jan 27, 2003, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by paulwhannel


You, know, for a $48 thousand computer, they could at least throw in the monitor :rolleyes:

:D
pnw

lol! lauging my arse off!

Those do seem quite expensive

I'd rather have 3 of these:
http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/22/wo/xR3JUm9yZpva2DgBAkH1yOCAMuG/2.7.0.3.27.1

mmm....dual 23" displays...

Vector
Jan 27, 2003, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by bousozoku


This machine is pre-configured with the operating system and unlimited licenses. The ready-to-go models are more expensive.

There is also the matter of the graphics hardware which, while entry level, would probably be over $800 otherwise.

Serial Storage Architecture is included in the basic design of the machine.

IBM's always excellent hardware diagnostics are included, complete with front panel status lights. The Wintel PCs from IBM do not get anything like this and would cost much more if they had them.

Btw, what's an ANS 700? (looks like a silly question to me) :)

Ok thanks now it makes more sense.

The ANS 700 is the Apple Network Server 700. It was released bay Apple in Feb. 1996 and discontinued in April 1997. It used AIX running on a 604e powerpc with 1MB of L2 cache ,512 MB of ram max, everything was hot swappable ie. power supplies, fans, drives. It had 7 drive bays on the front and I think you could put more inside but they were less accessible. It started at around 15k and was based on the ANS 500.