PDA

View Full Version : How do I reset/reformat my powerbook?




thairs
Mar 12, 2006, 11:52 PM
Hello, I just sold my powerbook and I'm wondering how do I reset it back to factory settings just like it came out of the box? Thanks.



grapes911
Mar 13, 2006, 12:18 AM
Pop in the install disks that came with your PB and select and erase and install.

MacsomJRR
Mar 14, 2006, 09:34 PM
will that safely erase all of the data on the computer so that no shady character could purchase the cpu and then reaccess all of the old info?:cool:

timswim78
Mar 14, 2006, 09:44 PM
will that safely erase all of the data on the computer so that no shady character could purchase the cpu and then reaccess all of the old info?:cool:

To completely (or as completely as possible) erase data, you will want to select a secure erase method. After booting from the startup disk, go to disk utility and select erase. Select erase options, and choose either the 7-pass or 35-pass options.
http://www.oreillynet.com/onlamp/blog/2005/05/enhancing_security_and_privacy.html

calebjohnston
Mar 14, 2006, 09:44 PM
EDIT: This post was wrong.. very wrong. Removed.