PDA

View Full Version : Just gotta new Powerbook G4

surfshack
Mar 14, 2006, 03:10 PM
Hello Everyone

I just joined here.
I've owned a powerbook G4 for a few months now.
I'm totally lost with computers , all I know how to do is type and send emails , burn cd's and import photo's from my camera ( my camera is a Canon S2 , which takes very nice pictures , btw).
Now , I want to learn how to import and burn DVD's. I tried to import a Jimi Hendrix bootleg DVD from the Atlanta Pop Festival. But I don't know how....I'm totally lost!
When importing cd's , it's pretty easy , but importing Dvd's isn't at all.
I went to iDVD and iMovie , but that's no help at all.
Can anyone here help me in being able to figure out how to import Dvd's , so I can burn them?
I'm new to computers , so any help would have to be spelled out to me step by step.
I would appreciate it!
Thanks!:confused:

zelmo
Mar 14, 2006, 03:15 PM
It is illegal, at least here in the U.S., to rip a commercial DVD. I've heard of people using s/ware like MactheRipper and Popcorn to make "backup" copies of their DVD collections, though.

Welcome to MacRumors. It's generally a lovely place to be.:)

surfshack
Mar 14, 2006, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the reply zelmo.
The Dvd I tried to import and burn isn't a commercial Dvd.
I realize copying commercial Dvd's is illegal.
I'm just trying to learn how to import and burn non-commercial Dvd's.
I have no idea how to do this...

Aramis
Mar 14, 2006, 03:25 PM
It is illegal, at least here in the U.S., to rip a commercial DVD. I've heard of people using s/ware like MactheRipper and Popcorn to make "backup" copies of their DVD collections, though.

Hint Hint. ;)

surfshack
Mar 14, 2006, 04:49 PM
OK , just now I loaded in my non-commercial DVD.
I went to "Finder" and clicked onto "Services" and then to "Disk Utility" and then clicked onto "Calculate Image Checksum CRC-32".