PDA

View Full Version : 17" Intel iMac problems anyone?




lamina
Mar 14, 2006, 07:34 PM
I am thinking of buying a 17" Intel iMac.

Has anyone had or heard of any problems with them?

I work for an educational reseller so I get sweet deals.

Let me know your thoughts.

Mike

PS: Thanks to all for making me feel so welcome during my 'switch'



gman71882
Mar 14, 2006, 09:24 PM
I just got a New 1.83 GHZ Dual Core Imac w/512 MB Ram for my Family,

The system seems to be working great except for a small bug with input devices: :confused:
When the computer wakes from sleep the mouse doesnt always work right, to fix the problem you must unseat and re-plug the mouse in.
Others have experienced the problem: One person said that using a USB hub with the keyboard and mouse into that fixed it, another said that by calling Apple and telling them the problem, he got a new keyboard and mouse which work fine.

Other than that my sister loves it and my dad says its great. Mom wants to Use Photoshop for some scanned pictures she painted, but i havent installed Photoshop on it yet. Reports are saying that Non-Universal programs(like photoshop) are really slow under rossetta unless you have more Ram in the Machine: (1GB or more)
I did install MS Office on it, which works fine under Rosetta, although i havent tested it very much.
ILife '06, and new version of Pages & Keynote are really great!! Also Love the built in ISight.

Total cost for the Machine with Education Discount & AppleCare Warranty:
~$1480ish, bought at the Apple Store in Houston.

Bottom Line: if your using Office, (Word, Excel, etc..) It should work great,
but if you are a power-user with Creative Suite 2 or other Adobe/Macromedia Apps, then you might want to wait till the Unversal Binary apps come out. (Hopefully end of the year) OR just Max out the RAM. Couldnt hurt!!:D
Photoshop Elements should run fine under Rosetta.

justflie
Mar 14, 2006, 10:39 PM
hey lamina
i'm planning on buying a 20" around the end of the month or so. I've played with the 17" at the apple store and loved it! if you're near one, take a stroll to a retail store and fiddle for a while (best to do that around non-peak hours) and you will soon get a feel for the machine/what it can do. i love it!

shrimpdesign
Mar 15, 2006, 12:14 AM
My 17" is fine .. except for whenever my I run Disk Utility, it says my HD it bad. So I think I have a bad HD ... which is weird because my iMac runs fine with a bad HD. I need to call Apple. But otherwise, I have had no problems.

theheyes
Mar 15, 2006, 04:41 AM
Good thread here you might have missed:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=185966

I've had my 17" a week and its great, except the wifi issue which I'm hopeful a software update will fix. I opted for 1GB of RAM (2x 512) and I'm really glad I did - I think 512 would have struggled a little with the PPC apps.

behead
Mar 15, 2006, 07:57 PM
ive had my intel imac for about 5 days and its the second 1gb of memory that will not work in this machine. i have to take it in tomorrow. is anyone having issues or heard of any problems with the memory slots?
besides that, the keyboard bug seems to be everywhere. almost wish they wouldve waited on the release.

Artful Dodger
Mar 15, 2006, 08:15 PM
ive had my intel imac for about 5 days and its the second 1gb of memory that will not work in this machine. i have to take it in tomorrow. is anyone having issues or heard of any problems with the memory slots?
besides that, the keyboard bug seems to be everywhere. almost wish they wouldve waited on the release.

Well I've had my new iMac (see sig) since Feb. 10th and as far as the Ram goes, no problems since i got mine from datamem.com as they guarantee that the ram will work and does (2x1GB sticks). Not sure where you got yours but some places will take chances that it will work or won't.

gman71882
Bottom Line: if your using Office, (Word, Excel, etc..) It should work great,
but if you are power-user with Photoshop or other Adobe Apps, then you might want to wait till the Unversal Binary apps come out. (Hopefully end of the year) OR just Max out the RAM. Couldnt hurt!!

I have Photoshop Elements 3 on mine as well as Word and everything is running smooth. I thought PSE3 would be slow but it hasn't been that way for me for what I've had to do. Everything else has been fine with a few driver issues for my tablet and Flash-Player Plug-in but those have been solved with the help of others from MR.
I think if you want/need one it's a great buy by now so good luck and enjoy if you get one :)