PDA

View Full Version : 20" iMac Booting Discussion




joelypolly
Mar 17, 2006, 02:05 AM
Since the 20" hasn't be able to boot I would like all discussion to go here so it makes it easy for people to see.

UPDATE: Its working
http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?s=&showtopic=12257&view=findpost&p=78398

Indeed XP was rejecting the Res size and you can fix this by doing the following:

1)Use the xom.efi file I posted for 20" iMacs
2)when you boot and see the Windows XP logo, press F4 to enter console. Now press F7 to enter Video console
3)You'll see X Resolution [1680]: <--enter 640 here, press enter
4)Now, you'll see Y Resolution [1050]: <--enter 480 here, press enter
5)Now, you'll see Bytes Per Pixel [32]: <--enter 32 here, press enter
6)Hit enter for all other values
7)XP will boot and install correctly, follow the howto.txt in the regular download package if you need further instructions.

I'm typing this form Windows XP on my iMac 20" right now, works great with the exception of video (when you get XP booted, you need to disable Hardware Acceleration in order to make it usable). Once drivers are posted for it, this should be pretty sweet!

Steve



Meemoo
Mar 17, 2006, 02:33 AM
Hasn't been able to boot at all?

joelypolly
Mar 17, 2006, 02:34 AM
Someone managed to get it to boot but not all the way. Still issues with the framebuffer.

esoteric0
Mar 17, 2006, 02:45 AM
i get through the formatting screen, and then it hangs when it's supposed to be copying files from the cd. guess a little more work needs to be done, but i'm sure they'll figure it out soon.

joelypolly
Mar 17, 2006, 03:18 AM
I'm going to attempt uploading this file to MR (nevermind didn't work). It's an updated xom.efi for 20" Intel iMacs. We aren't done testing it but it should work.

Enjoy, and huge thanks to blanka!

http://d10.yousendit.com/E/34P5YIBRHYS54216UNYZEFN3ZO/xom.efi

(let me know if there's problems with that link.)

This is the "newish" version for the 20" iMac if people want to test. Report back on results and hopefully we can get a working release before the end of the weekend.

BlueRevolution
Mar 17, 2006, 03:19 AM
problems finding display drivers maybe? I mean, how much difference is there between the 17" and the 20" aside from slightly larger numbers?

not that I should be mistaken for a moment for someone who knows what he's talking about.

Compufix
Mar 17, 2006, 10:18 AM
That got me to the setup screen, trying now as we speak...report back what I find here.

OK, one thing, the partitions are totally not like what the directions say. I get an E partition (EFI) and a Partition2 says F but I can partition it. I picked one that will work, so we will see what happens. I might have the luck of the Irish with me.

I am going to lunch now, report back what I find.

I have the same issue now....sitting at the copying files screen. Will try to reboot.

esoteric0
Mar 17, 2006, 10:24 AM
This is the "newish" version for the 20" iMac if people want to test. Report back on results and hopefully we can get a working release before the end of the weekend.

that's the one i tried, no luck. the first version that was released didn't even get to the format screen.

Steve1496
Mar 17, 2006, 11:55 AM
That got me to the setup screen, trying now as we speak...report back what I find here.

OK, one thing, the partitions are totally not like what the directions say. I get an E partition (EFI) and a Partition2 says F but I can partition it. I picked one that will work, so we will see what happens. I might have the luck of the Irish with me.

I am going to lunch now, report back what I find.

I have the same issue now....sitting at the copying files screen. Will try to reboot.


I chose the free space that is *under* the E partition. In other words, it reads something like this:
E: Partition 1 (EFI) [FAT32]
--x MB free

You'll want to choose the Unpartitioned space under Partition 1 (E), I believe that worked for me.

The other obvious issue is getting to Copying Files and it doesn't go anywhere. The bad sign is if you click the Caps Lock key, the light won't come on. This might be a little hard to get going but I'll work with Blanka to see what can be done.

The good thing is we got VGA going!

Compufix
Mar 17, 2006, 12:00 PM
well send me a private or post here, I will be checking. I will be more than happy to test, and yes, I choose the right one and now when it boots I see a partitioning screen like the one you have in the docs. I will try a few more times to see if it goes.

Compufix
Mar 17, 2006, 12:47 PM
BTW I saw a post on onmac.net forum that says XP Home SP2 worked when XP Pro SP2 did not. I only have access to XP Pro SP2, so that is what I have. If you need anything specific let me know.

I will most likely be taking this 20" iMac home this weekend to continue and "play" with it.

Steve1496
Mar 17, 2006, 12:53 PM
BTW I saw a post on onmac.net forum that says XP Home SP2 worked when XP Pro SP2 did not. I only have access to XP Pro SP2, so that is what I have. If you need anything specific let me know.

I will most likely be taking this 20" iMac home this weekend to continue and "play" with it.


Yeah I only have Home SP1 and Pro SP2 CDs so I couldn't test this..if it is true, then it is probably an issue with one of the files that XP Pro loads (and Home doesnt).

Compufix
Mar 17, 2006, 01:21 PM
Another post. when following directions, you are asked to replace the ENTIRE i386 folder with the patch, instead of just replacing the files IN the i386 folder. I am re-burning my XP Pro SP2 now, and lets see what happens. I will assume the same thing, since it never gets to actually copying.

FYI, nada.....still locked at same point. It created folders, then hangs at copying files.

So close, but oh so far 8-)....

Steve1496
Mar 17, 2006, 03:17 PM
Forgot to update MacRumors on 20" status: It appears the issue is related to disk size issues. It's not easy to fix but we'll hopefully have a working version out in a few days.

joelypolly
Mar 17, 2006, 03:36 PM
Some thing to try:
Install XP in a Qemu environment, stop after it finishes copying the files to the drive before it has finished setup. Then restore the image over the msdos partition and see if that will help with installing. You can convert the drive over to NTFS after windows is installed.

balamw
Mar 17, 2006, 03:43 PM
It appears the issue is related to disk size issues.
Now that's somewhat unexpected since both of the common drives in the 17" and 20" are both above the 137GB LBA limit that usually causes trouble. Is this a new hard drive size barrier?

B

dotdotdot
Mar 17, 2006, 03:49 PM
XP SP2 has no harddrive limit barrier (neither does SP1)...

It just shows how different the 20" and 17" iMacs are, and how different XP Home and XP Pro are.

Steve1496
Mar 17, 2006, 03:51 PM
Now that's somewhat unexpected since both of the common drives in the 17" and 20" are both above the 137GB LBA limit that usually causes trouble. Is this a new hard drive size barrier?

B


It's not the disks problem (as we can see so far) but actually is a problem with the way the patch is handling the disk. We don't have too much info on the problem yet but we've had a few people send in MBR logs to analyze.

esoteric0
Mar 18, 2006, 01:21 PM
The Wiki (http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWTO) says that booting is working on the 20" imac using the linked xom file. should that be changed, or am i the only one that can't get it working?

i tried installing MCE with the slipstreamed dvd and xp pro sp2 with no luck.

Rusdude
Mar 18, 2006, 02:04 PM
The Wiki (http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWTO) says that booting is working on the 20" imac using the linked xom file. should that be changed, or am i the only one that can't get it working?

i tried installing MCE with the slipstreamed dvd and xp pro sp2 with no luck.

Wiki has an alpha (i.e. test) version of the new file posted by Steve himself (right?), which they THOUGHT might work, but it doesn't as of yet.

esoteric0
Mar 18, 2006, 03:06 PM
Wiki has an alpha (i.e. test) version of the new file posted by Steve himself (right?), which they THOUGHT might work, but it doesn't as of yet.

exactly, which is why i think the wiki should be changed. it leads poor schmuks like me on ;-)

joelypolly
Mar 18, 2006, 03:40 PM
There has been a number of reports of it working.
Follow these steps.
After selecting XP in the boot screen press F4 and then F7 before you hit enter.
There enter 640 for width and 480 for height and then hit enter for the rest of the parameters.

Boot ur cd and install.

esoteric0
Mar 18, 2006, 04:04 PM
There has been a number of reports of it working.
Follow these steps.
After selecting XP in the boot screen press F4 and then F7 before you hit enter.
There enter 640 for width and 480 for height and then hit enter for the rest of the parameters.

Boot ur cd and install.

i'm not home so i can't try it right now, but would this help with the installation process failing to copy setup files after formatting the windows partition? video is at fullscreen by then anyway.

joelypolly
Mar 18, 2006, 05:13 PM
i'm not home so i can't try it right now, but would this help with the installation process failing to copy setup files after formatting the windows partition? video is at fullscreen by then anyway.

No idea... But there are photos already posted and a number of people have said it works

Steve1496
Mar 18, 2006, 07:01 PM
Indeed XP was rejecting the Res size and you can fix this by doing the following:

1)Use the xom.efi file I posted for 20" iMacs
2)when you boot and see the Windows XP logo, press F4 to enter console. Now press F7 to enter Video console
3)You'll see X Resolution [1680]: <--enter 640 here, press enter
4)Now, you'll see Y Resolution [1050]: <--enter 480 here, press enter
5)Now, you'll see Bytes Per Pixel [32]: <--enter 32 here, press enter
6)Hit enter for all other values
7)XP will boot and install correctly, follow the howto.txt in the regular download package if you need further instructions.

I'm typing this form Windows XP on my iMac 20" right now, works great with the exception of video (when you get XP booted, you need to disable Hardware Acceleration in order to make it usable). Once drivers are posted for it, this should be pretty sweet!

Steve

barstard
Mar 18, 2006, 07:42 PM
Yep. This F4 F7 thing works beautifully for me. Windows is up and running. Just downloading the drivers now (on my other mac). Hope I can get either ethernet or Airport or Firewire working (for internet).

barstard.

Steve1496
Mar 18, 2006, 08:02 PM
Once you guys got your Macs running XP, I've posted a helpful hint regarding easily eject CDs in Windows (the eject CD doesn't work).
From my OnMac forums post:
Hey, I thought I'd share this software that I found with everyone so they could utilize it. It is shareware, $15 to buy with 30 day trial--though it is pretty useful. You can set it so that if you press a certain key (eject key does not work here, the program doesn't see it), it will eject your CD. For example, I am using the Help key as my eject shortcut. Works great so far!

Get it here:
http://www.cd-eject-tool.com/
http://forum.onmac.net/showthread.php?t=212

nospleen
Mar 18, 2006, 08:55 PM
Hello, so if you do not have a PC or access to one, then you cannot install XP, right? Because of the need to slipstream the disc...

Steve1496
Mar 18, 2006, 08:59 PM
Hello, so if you do not have a PC or access to one, then you cannot install XP, right? Because of the need to slipstream the disc...


Currently, yes.

nospleen
Mar 18, 2006, 09:00 PM
Currently, yes.

Thought so... But, I am guessing that is about to change?

BlueRevolution
Mar 18, 2006, 09:45 PM
can't the disk be slipstreamed in VPC though? uh, I guess for that you'd need a PPC Mac at the moment...

joelypolly
Mar 18, 2006, 10:27 PM
Thought so... But, I am guessing that is about to change?
Yeah

see here:

http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWTO#Possible_Mac-Only_Solution

barstard
Mar 19, 2006, 05:15 AM
Yeah

see here:

http://wiki.onmac.net/index.php/HOWTO#Possible_Mac-Only_Solution

Yeah. That solution sucks unless you love the terminal. I couldn't even get mkisofs to install! Luckily I had a friend with a PC come over and burn a disk according to the main XPonmac instructions. Works fine on my 20" with the xom.efi for 20" . Now have drivers for ethernet, bluetooth, chipset, sound (not internal speakers) and Airport. All working.:D Now only need damn video drivers, iSight and IR and we'll have a beast.

I tell you what though, this experiment has made me realise that Windows IS bad, so much stuffing around to get drivers to install. What a pain.

barstard.

Compufix
Mar 19, 2006, 09:48 AM
UPDATE...

Confirmed, after doing the f4 f7 and changing resolution to 640x480 I was able to install all the way.

I installed the Sigma drivers and get great sound (only headphones) and installed the Ethernet and Wireless and Intel software (am typing this from IE over wireless as we speak) and downloaded and installed the anycom Bluetooth software...there is one note from the wiki...

When modifying the btusb.inf file make sure you use the following

USB\Vid_05ac&Pid_8206 <---note the 8206 NOT 8205 as noted in instructions

Now everything is working but the following

Sound via the internal speakers
Fan/temp control (I know fans will come on with the chipset triggers it)
Graphics Hardware exceleration....
Freezes on restart/shutdown

However a great accomplishment.

Congrats to Steve and Narf and Blanka for getting us this far. I can wait to see what the future holds.

Very exciting for this uber Geek 8-)

If My MacBook Pro had a bigger HD, I might try it on there.....right now I only have a gig free.....so ......I also dont want to do it until the fan control stuff gets sorted out.

-Compufix

barstard
Mar 20, 2006, 01:27 AM
Digital audio out is working fine! Some people are saying their install crashes on Shutdown/restart. Mine only on restart, if you shutdown it works fine.

For the person who lost their boot selection screen, re-install xom.efi on your mac partition and bless it again, should work fine.

WMP DRM works fine, so there isn't much more I need, although graphics drivers would make the whole OS GUI not so choppy.

To Steve1496, great work, we all owe a debt of gratitude to you for so much work on the 20" and for keeping us well informed as to the progress. Cheers.

barstard.

Compufix
Mar 20, 2006, 05:10 PM
I am also working on an Applescript (with some shell scripting) installer that will install the correct xom.efi (original, mini or imac version), bless it and also make the iso slipstream XP cd. I am just working out a few things and I will post it here and at onmac.net

It is just easier for me to ask a few questions and set up the shell scripts using applescript. Until I learn automator 8-)....I may not help anyone, but atleast will make it easier a few steps. Because of possible legalities, I will not include drivers from third parties other than what is included with the xom.zip file originally. However with the wiki, it is wasy to get the drivers needed.

-Compufix

[EDIT] BTW...my Applescript helper app is finished. I posted a seperate thread here, but the URL is

http://forum.onmac.net/showthread.php?t=362

Good luck 8-)

derekboyer
Mar 20, 2006, 09:43 PM
On my system, all the files get copied. After it restarts the rest of the setup does not get to finish. I take the cd out and it still doesn't do anything. Does anybody know what I am doing wrong?

Compufix
Mar 22, 2006, 12:59 PM
Yeah. That solution sucks unless you love the terminal. I couldn't even get mkisofs to install.

Not that it helps you now, but my xomhelper app has the mkisofs included in the app to make the ISO then burns the CD for you...works on PPC and Intel tested on MBP, 20" Intel iMac and Dual G5..

Does other stuff as well, a link is a few posts back in this topic.

-Compufix

glorfindeal
Mar 22, 2006, 01:53 PM
On my system, all the files get copied. After it restarts the rest of the setup does not get to finish. I take the cd out and it still doesn't do anything. Does anybody know what I am doing wrong?

Did you by chance modify the partitions on the hard drive? If so, use disk utilities to erase the hard drive then repartition. This was a problem I ran into. It somehow lost the efi 200MB partition. Once I erased the disk and repartitioned. It worked perfectly.

Glor

justflie
Mar 22, 2006, 10:30 PM
hey folks. i should be buying my 20" this weekend. Is it possible to partition some fat 32 space on the drive so that both OS's can see and write to it and use it as a drive to swap files between the two? i'm a newb at all this and can't program so is this out of my league (if it's doable) or should it be rather trivial to do?

Steve1496
Mar 22, 2006, 11:24 PM
hey folks. i should be buying my 20" this weekend. Is it possible to partition some fat 32 space on the drive so that both OS's can see and write to it and use it as a drive to swap files between the two? i'm a newb at all this and can't program so is this out of my league (if it's doable) or should it be rather trivial to do?


Yes they can both write/read to FAT32.

Steve