PDA

View Full Version : All I need is IE on XP for my MLS service




StacyJohns
Mar 18, 2006, 08:18 AM
After being a mac user for over 10 years I had to buy a Windows laptop for work. I'm a realtor and my local MLS supports only IE on XP. The last 16 months have sucked. I must confess I am not a sofisticated user, I just want my computer to work with minimal hassle.

Is the dual boot scenario the one for me or should I wait for a new version of VPC? Like I said all I need is IE on XP to access my MLS service. I have no tech skills and truthfully dont want to have to hack my way along blindly.

Please, someone a little guidance here

much thanks,
Stacy



MacRumorUser
Mar 18, 2006, 08:23 AM
Were in similar situation.

All our office applications, have been successfully adapted to mac, even al our accounts etc.. BUT our bank only offer access to our business account if accessed through IE6.. Having to keep a pc just for that purpose is a royal pain.

Hopefully Virtual PC 8 will arrive sometime this year with near native speed on intel macs, the dual boot option may work, but at the moment it's a bit of a pain - drivers not working and such....

yankeefan24
Mar 18, 2006, 08:23 AM
VPC might be the better solution for several reasons. 1) you only need IE. 2) you don't want to hack. 3) the fans don't seem to work with XP and the computer can overheat. If you have a MBP especially this can be bad.

If you only need it for IE, dual booting might be to much of a hastle. If you can wait, wait.

-yankeefan

edit: macrumoruser got to some of it before me. (mostly the being hard part).

evoluzione
Mar 18, 2006, 08:48 AM
BUT our bank only offer access to our business account if accessed through IE6.. Having to keep a pc just for that purpose is a royal pain.



beter idea, enable the "debug" menu in Safari (can't remember how you do that, i think with a free app called "safari enhancer") and then you can have Safari pretend to be Windows IE6, which should solve your problem.

yankeefan24
Mar 18, 2006, 08:49 AM
beter idea, enable the "debug" menu in Safari (can't remember how you do that, i think with a free app called "safari enhancer") and then you can have Safari pretend to be Windows IE6, which should solve your problem.

tinker tool is what you are thinking of. if not, it works.

i'm not sure how well that works. If it works, then good. but it seems to easy. i don't think it can be.;)

Cooknn
Mar 18, 2006, 08:53 AM
I use VPC four access to our local MLS (http://mlsreal.com) as well as PicturePath.com (http://www.picturepath.com) where I upload virtual tours to Realtor.com. The MLS also has Citrix access for Mac's which is pretty cool, but I just stick with VPC. It's a pain, but just a part of my workflow now. I suppose if I was a realtor and had to access the MLS a lot, I would think hard about staying on a Windows box. Glad I'm not a realtor ;)

Mysterio
Mar 18, 2006, 09:48 AM
You could try the free Universal Binary emulator Q:

http://www.kberg.ch/q/index.php?sid=87833&p=0

It will probably allow you to do what you need.

(I've read for a long time, but first post :D)

ITASOR
Mar 18, 2006, 09:57 AM
beter idea, enable the "debug" menu in Safari (can't remember how you do that, i think with a free app called "safari enhancer") and then you can have Safari pretend to be Windows IE6, which should solve your problem.

Quit Safari.
Open Terminal.
Type "defaults write com.apple.Safari IncludeDebugMenu 1" without the quotes.
Press return.

Open safari, you'll see the debug menu.

If you want to turn it off, just do the same thing but with a "0" instead of the "1".

someguy
Mar 18, 2006, 10:18 AM
Kinnexus for Mac... oh how much easier my life would be. :rolleyes:

...yes, I'm also a Realtor...

4JNA
Mar 18, 2006, 10:30 AM
use both. vpc when it comes out will be a better option for the 'just make it work' side of the equation. in the meantime, stick the pc on the network, get and install vnc, and use chicken-of-the-vnc to control the pc. same idea as vpc, just a lot faster. uses more energy i guess would be a downside, but my pc is in the basement helping reduce my heating bill right now, so not all bad.

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/networking_security/chickenofthevnc.html

download can be found here. on gigabit, it's as fast as sitting in front of the pc, but sitting in front of the mac makes me feel better ;)

chaos86
Mar 18, 2006, 11:20 AM
beter idea, enable the "debug" menu in Safari (can't remember how you do that, i think with a free app called "safari enhancer") and then you can have Safari pretend to be Windows IE6, which should solve your problem.

I do believe that safari can only pretend to be Win98/IE6, not XP (dont ask me why). If that's not an issue, theres still the issue that the website may actually require something in IE that isn't in safari, like *shudder* activeX.

Compufix
Mar 18, 2006, 01:18 PM
You could set up a Windows machine somewhere where you have access to it, and use the RDC client for OSX to log into the windows machine, and use it as needed.

I use the RDC client to control our servers and my Windows desktop when on the OSX box, and I use VNC on the Windows machine when I need access to my OSX servers and OSX workstation.

This is only good if you have access to a Windows XP box or server with terminal services installed. It does work well.

-Mike

Digitalclips
Mar 18, 2006, 01:37 PM
beter idea, enable the "debug" menu in Safari (can't remember how you do that, i think with a free app called "safari enhancer") and then you can have Safari pretend to be Windows IE6, which should solve your problem.

This simply doesn't work for MLS unfortunately - been there - tried that. There must be some code in XP itself that these web sites check or use. It should be against the law!:(