PDA

View Full Version : XP symbol turns upside down?!




samm-c
Mar 18, 2006, 06:01 PM
Ok so I got through the first section of the XP install, it copied al of the files and it restarted my computer. Then when I go press down for the windows start that works but when I press "enter" on windows the symbol turns upside down and nothing happens. Anyone else have this happen? I fee like I am so close.



jaw04005
Mar 18, 2006, 06:21 PM
That symbol means your disc is not bootable. Reburn a new CD. Make sure you follow every step precisely.

samm-c
Mar 18, 2006, 07:16 PM
ok so then maybe it is because I made my CD from a Dell XP install CD? it did have some extra files besides "docs" "i386" and "support." The thing is I heard of someone installing using a Dell XP Windows CD. Shoot :(

Sharewaredemon
Mar 18, 2006, 07:33 PM
ok so then maybe it is because I made my CD from a Dell XP install CD? it did have some extra files besides "docs" "i386" and "support." The thing is I heard of someone installing using a Dell XP Windows CD. Shoot :(

You have to use a commercial copy of a Windows XP SP2 disk.

The Dell disk won't work.

jaw04005
Mar 18, 2006, 10:04 PM
Some have gotten other versions (corporate, MCE, etc) to work. However, it jsut depends. Does your Dell have SP2 on it?

joelypolly
Mar 18, 2006, 10:23 PM
trying running through the windows install from the start again... there have been a number of reports like urs and they seem to be fixed by the second install.
See here:
http://forum.onmac.net/showthread.php?t=107&page=1

mrplow
Mar 19, 2006, 02:58 AM
i had thi sproblem too- its not your CD

first time you boot from CD and install the second partition has no number (part 1, fat partition, part2, etc) so you choose that partition inbetween 1 & 2.. it formats it (must be NTFS- i have had zero success with FAT)... then restart, at this point if you disable cdbooting or remove it the icon WILL flip upside down (in my case) so just let the cd boot again and run the install again.. now your NTFS partition ins partition 2 and you do the process over.. next time restart it with c d disabled and it should be good to go


i hate when people just randomly choose a solution and don't know what they're talking about... ((saying the disc is bad)).. I could see, however, if it lacks SP2 that some issue could arise, but if you google there are ways of downloading SP2 and adding it to the disc in the same fashion you added narf's stuff

iEdd
Mar 19, 2006, 04:26 AM
If you legally have the dell disk and are not using it in any computer, than there should be nothing wrong with downloading a rip of an XP disk and using your licence code.

andy89
Mar 19, 2006, 04:45 AM
You cant do that anymore. They've changed the security.

But if you push shift+F10 you can bring up the dos prompt and edit the registry and your sorted;)

ReanimationLP
Mar 19, 2006, 06:47 AM
If you legally have the dell disk and are not using it in any computer, than there should be nothing wrong with downloading a rip of an XP disk and using your licence code.

It's illegal.

OEM copies that are included with computers are owned and licensed to the OEM, not the end-user.

iEdd
Mar 19, 2006, 03:05 PM
Ahh okay, I didn't realise it wasn't a full licence supplied with it.

fisty
Mar 20, 2006, 06:52 PM
i had that problem too, just boot from the cd again, and restart the windows instalation u have to reformat the partition you prepared for windows under the windows instalation, i had the same problem too....