PDA

View Full Version : F3 F4 and F5 buttons




AudiGuy
Mar 18, 2006, 08:29 PM
how do i use the F buttons on my 12" PB G4? its set to adjust volume but i need to use the F keys



matticus008
Mar 18, 2006, 08:32 PM
Well, if you just want to use them as F-keys temporarily, use the Fn button on the keyboard. If you're looking to make a permanent switch, go to System Preferences and change the setting in the Keyboard section that says something about "use F1-F12 for software functions." That should do the trick :).

AudiGuy
Mar 18, 2006, 08:47 PM
tanks guys!!!

katsugawa
Feb 16, 2013, 03:37 AM
Well, if you just want to use them as F-keys temporarily, use the Fn button on the keyboard. If you're looking to make a permanent switch, go to System Preferences and change the setting in the Keyboard section that says something about "use F1-F12 for software functions." That should do the trick :).

Thanks guys

MisterKeeks
Feb 16, 2013, 12:43 PM
Thanks guys

Please don't revive ancient threads.

rabidz7
Feb 16, 2013, 06:47 PM
Why do you not have the fn keys set to default?

MisterKeeks
Feb 16, 2013, 10:56 PM
Why do you not have the fn keys set to default?

Because, as stated in the original post, they are being used for volume control.

rabidz7
Feb 16, 2013, 11:07 PM
Because, as stated in the original post, they are being used for volume control.

The default is volume control...

MisterKeeks
Feb 17, 2013, 08:54 AM
its set to adjust volume but i need to use the F keys

The default is volume control...

I thought that you meant that why not have the function keys default to software functions. Either way, the OP stated that he needs to use the F keys. I would guess that it is for some software that requires them.