PDA

View Full Version : Powermac G5 size




fatandlazy11
Mar 22, 2006, 03:09 PM
I just recently (this weekend) went into an Apple store for the first time. Really neat, I gotta admit, as this was my first time to see the computers in real life. Some were-lets just say "bigger" then I expected. I mean, granted, I knew the iMac 20" was going to be big. But when I saw the Powermac G5, I was astounded at the size. I guess to be a top of the line computer, you have to be really freakin big.-Big guy was kinda noisey too. Does-did anyone else think the Powermac G5 was big upon first encounter?



eva01
Mar 22, 2006, 03:11 PM
Not upon my first site of the Powermac G5 however when i opened it up and put it in my room. All i said was "**** this thing is huge"

Dreadnought
Mar 22, 2006, 03:14 PM
Not at first, but when transporting it in my small two door convertible (my only car, a Fiat Barchetta) when going to friends for a LAN party. This monster doesn't fit in my car! Doesn't fit in the boot (is only 40 x 40 cm), so I have to cramp it behind the passenger seat and put my 20" old Apple CRT on the seat. It just fits.

iGary
Mar 22, 2006, 03:16 PM
It barely fit in my Honda Civic.

It does get loud when it is working hard. I usually keep the processor performance to "Automatic" unless I am doing heavy-duty graphics work - seems to help with the fan noise.

liketom
Mar 22, 2006, 03:16 PM
yeah my first words when i got my dual power was ******* that is one big mumma

Chaszmyr
Mar 22, 2006, 03:17 PM
The PC I had when I got my G5 was just as big, so I wasn't surprised. When I opened it up though I was like "Holy **** that heat sink is big!" lol

kwajo.com
Mar 22, 2006, 03:18 PM
it is quite large, though not abnormally so. I guess I'm unique in that I thought it was very quiet, though I only run in 'Reduced' mode

topgunn
Mar 23, 2006, 09:04 AM
My first G5 (a single 1.8GHz) was very quiet. After that I have only had duals and they are much louder, obviously.

I was surprised by the size of the machine but I was more surprised by its weight. It should come with its own dolly.

trogdor!
Mar 24, 2006, 12:52 AM
I just wish with its size came more "official" SATA 3.5 drive bays.

topgunn
Mar 24, 2006, 07:46 AM
I just wish with its size came more "official" SATA 3.5 drive bays.
I bet the Intel Power Macs get redesigned. The main reason for the current layout is to effectively control heat output from the G5's. Since the Conroe chips should be much more efficient, Apple should have more room for internal drives and the like.

celebrian23
Mar 24, 2006, 07:51 AM
I had my first visit at the mac store about a week ago. While I was specifically looking at the mbp's, I looked at everything. And that powermac just looked huge to me too! It looked like it weighted more than I do!

Jason Bourne
Mar 24, 2006, 04:11 PM
I just wish with its size came more "official" SATA 3.5 drive bays.

I got my G5 in December so by that point I had seen many G5s (even dad had had a few by then) but when I first set it up, I was still surprised at how much bigger it was than my old Sawtooth G4. It wouldn't fit in my CPU tower piece of furniture (piece of my desk basically). I had to throw the desk in the basement and for the first time ever run the computer simply sitting on the floor. It's mainly quite a biut taller than the G4 was, but I think it's also significantly deeper.

As trogdor mentioned, though, it's annoying to only be able to fit 2 drives in there. I have the original 250GB drive sitting on a shelf since I installed two Maxtors.

Eevee
Mar 24, 2006, 04:18 PM
I was surprised by the size of the machine but I was more surprised by its weight. It should come with its own dolly.


Yeah...Got mine last December and had a tough time cramming it into my Mit. Eclipse! Not to mention the weight!

Though huge and heavy, the G5 rocks in performance!

Some_Big_Spoon
Mar 24, 2006, 04:25 PM
And Heavy! The aluminum is nice, but man, it weighs a ton.

Not upon my first site of the Powermac G5 however when i opened it up and put it in my room. All i said was "**** this thing is huge"

Jason Bourne
Mar 24, 2006, 04:28 PM
Speaking of size, I had a hard time getting my 30" ACD home in my 350Z - it comes in a HUGE box - had to get creative with the seat arrangements. The G5 came from Apple directly so I never had to take it in the car, but if I had tried to buy the G5 and ACD at a store, there's no way I could have gotten both home in one trip in the Z.

Some_Big_Spoon
Mar 24, 2006, 04:29 PM
Why? And what do you do that reduced mode is adequate? Reduced mode on my iMac G5 2.1GHz w/2.5GB RAM is unusable. Automatic is annoying, but workable. High is the only way I can get work done.

it is quite large, though not abnormally so. I guess I'm unique in that I thought it was very quiet, though I only run in 'Reduced' mode

jrk07
Mar 24, 2006, 06:02 PM
it is quite large, though not abnormally so. I guess I'm unique in that I thought it was very quiet, though I only run in 'Reduced' mode

Why in the world would you drop the money for a PowerMac G5 and run it in reduced when you could have probably just gotten an iMac and leave it on automatic for the same speed.

dmw007
Mar 24, 2006, 06:22 PM
And Heavy! The aluminum is nice, but man, it weighs a ton.

The aluminum may make the Power Mac G5 a tad on the heavy side, but I would not have it any other way. :)