PDA

View Full Version : Verizon Text Msg?


eclipse525
Mar 31, 2006, 09:23 AM
I know that you can log into Verizonwireless and text message someone that way but ONLY to other Verizon users. Is there a site or way to accomplish the same thing to other users from other carriers?


~erick

StarbucksSam
Mar 31, 2006, 09:29 AM
You can actually IM other people's cell phones right from AIM and it will go through as a TXT.

If the phone number was 310-555-5567, you'd send an AIM to +3105555567. I'm not sure if you need a 1 or not for the country code after the plus. I don't THINK you do.

killuminati
Mar 31, 2006, 09:51 AM
There was a widget that did this. You just had to select your country and then they had a list of carriers. I can't find it on my computer anymore but I remember getting it from the Apple Downloads site.

jelloshotsrule
Mar 31, 2006, 10:42 AM
if you know their carrier, go to that company's site and do it... not sure about any way to do it if you don't know their carrier (besides i guess the im method)

katie ta achoo
Mar 31, 2006, 10:55 AM
google sms (http://toolbar1.google.com/send/sms/index.php)

if you know the carrier...

eclipse525
Mar 31, 2006, 01:58 PM
You can actually IM other people's cell phones right from AIM and it will go through as a TXT.

If the phone number was 310-555-5567, you'd send an AIM to +3105555567. I'm not sure if you need a 1 or not for the country code after the plus. I don't THINK you do.

does that work for ichat? I'm assuming yes?.


~e

eclipse525
Mar 31, 2006, 02:08 PM
google sms (http://toolbar1.google.com/send/sms/index.php)

if you know the carrier...

This works great BUT you always have to identify yourself in the message, which kinda sucks.


~e

emw
Mar 31, 2006, 02:09 PM
does that work for ichat? I'm assuming yes?.
Yep, it works in iChat.

If the phone number was 310-555-5567, you'd send an AIM to +3105555567. I'm not sure if you need a 1 or not for the country code after the plus. I don't THINK you do.I use it in iChat and it works with the +1; haven't confirmed if it works without.

eclipse525
Mar 31, 2006, 02:28 PM
Yep, it works in iChat.

I use it in iChat and it works with the +1; haven't confirmed if it works without.

do you have to have them in your buddy list? Can you just sent a random text message to a friend not on your list? Thanks!

~e

emw
Mar 31, 2006, 02:32 PM
Go to File > New Chat. Click the "+" symbol and select "Other...". Type in the SMS ID.

Not extremely intuitive, but it only takes a second.

eclipse525
Mar 31, 2006, 02:36 PM
Go to File > New Chat. Click the "+" symbol and select "Other...". Type in the SMS ID.

Not extremely intuitive, but it only takes a second.

Thanks! Works like a charm.

~e