PDA

View Full Version : Best format for importing?

luckylisp
Apr 3, 2006, 03:26 PM
What do most of you use? AAC or mp3? Is AAC smaller than mp3? How big is the sound difference?

I have been using 128 kbps AAC, but I'm new to this and i'm not sure if it's the best choice?

KKKL
Apr 3, 2006, 06:54 PM
i use 192kbps MP3 format

iGary
Apr 3, 2006, 07:00 PM
192kbps is good for most people.

That's what I rip at, personally.

luckylisp
Apr 4, 2006, 01:37 AM
Anyone use 192 aac?

stridey
Apr 4, 2006, 01:42 AM
Can't help but mention my recent blog entry about compression, here (http://stridey.blogspot.com/2006/04/is-itunes-aac-distinguishable-from.html). Basically, my view is that 160 kbps is totally indistinguishable from uncompressed. Existing MR thread about it here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=190864).

WinterMute
Apr 4, 2006, 05:12 AM
Can't help but mention my recent blog entry about compression, here (http://stridey.blogspot.com/2006/04/is-itunes-aac-distinguishable-from.html). Basically, my view is that 160 kbps is totally indistinguishable from uncompressed. Existing MR thread about it here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=190864).
As you'll see from Stridey's thread, not everyone agrees...

AAC is a more musical codec than MP3, and the higher the rate the better the quality, I use 320kbps AAC in the iPod and occasionally Lossless, which is probably overkill.

The bottom line is simple, if you like the way it sounds at 160kbps for instance go with that.

Through most standard ear-buds, it's just not possible to hear much change and file size becomes the main issue.

student_trap
Apr 4, 2006, 05:39 AM
AAC is supposed to be smaller than mp3 but the same quality at the differing relative compression rates, for example (correct me if i'm wrong guys):

128 AAC = 160 mp3
160 AAC = 192 mp3
192 AAC = 256 mp3 etc etc