PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP on Mac benchmarks.




howesey
Apr 5, 2006, 06:13 PM
Let's see how fast Apple's hardware is.

Those with a Intel Mac with Windows XP running, please post your benchmark scores.

3DMark scores would be useful, along with any other benchmarks.



Takumi
Apr 5, 2006, 06:25 PM
*taps fingers* in antisipation

http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=36 here is a link to downlaod good old super pi,

calculate to 1milion places

Takumi

System specs:
P3 600, 100MHz FSB
384MB SDRAM PC133
2GB 5400RPM HDD
Windows XP SP1

Super Pi time: 3minutes 28seconds

lets see how long it takes for time to begin to tumbe

Kingsly
Apr 5, 2006, 06:26 PM
Haven't had a chance to really "benchmark" per say, but let me say this: its fast. I mean reallly fast. Like really, really, really realllyyyyyy fast. I have whiplash its so fast.
Of course, its Windows, so it still freezes and crashes the same. :p

Temujin
Apr 5, 2006, 06:29 PM
Yeah 3dmark would be a good source for comparison, and pcmark by the way.

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2006, 06:30 PM
its fast. I mean reallly fast. Like really, really, really realllyyyyyy fast.

*makes Zoolander voice* Is it really, really, ridiculously fast? :)

cyberddot
Apr 5, 2006, 06:30 PM
Wait...that doesn't happen to XP at work very often ;) The last time I saw a BSOD on a Wintel box was when I put a bad Kingston module in, otherwise I've gotten used to a fairly stable OS in XP. Please tell me yer just joshin' around, because I'm really hoping this is going work with similar stability (albeit Beta)



you think I don't know what a yooGoogley is? ;)

Takumi
Apr 5, 2006, 06:53 PM
run super pi, it should take less than a minute on the new machines, and takes about 1 second to download.

Takumi
Apr 5, 2006, 07:06 PM
What you’ll need

* Mac OS X Tiger v10.4.6 (check Software Update)
* The latest Firmware update (check Support Downloads)
* 10GB free hard disk space
* An Intel-based Mac

that pic seems fishy, as it's suppose to only work on intel based macs?

Takumi

Backtothemac
Apr 5, 2006, 07:36 PM
It too 45 seconds on my system.

MacBook Pro 1.83
1.5GB Ram

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2006, 07:50 PM
that pic seems fishy, as it's suppose to only work on intel based macs?

Boot Camp doesn't work on PPC Macs. Of course not. Not to let you boot XP natively. Because there's no PPC version of XP that runs on Apple software. It wouldn't do anything to make XP's code able to run on the PPC without emulation.

But there've been ways to run Windows on PPC macs for ages...using emulators. It's just slow.

cyberddot
Apr 5, 2006, 08:02 PM
I guess he posted this pic' on the Page One and has lost his privileges to post as a result! Moral: consider the fact that you post on these forums by the good graces of our provider(s), and as such you jest at your own risk.

Takumi
Apr 5, 2006, 08:20 PM
But there've been ways to run Windows on PPC macs for ages...using emulators. It's just slow.This post is also distinctly different from the one you initally made:p

Takumi

P.S:
It too 45 seconds on my system.

MacBook Pro 1.83
1.5GB Ram
Good to see results are starting to filter through found a screen shot of an Athlon 64 3700+ (2.7GHz) do a 31 seconds pass, and a Pentium M 745 pushed to 2.67GHz do a 28 second pass.

mkrishnan
Apr 5, 2006, 08:23 PM
This post is also distinctly different from the one you initally made:p

Yes, I think so. The moderators here are good people. When they edit threads, they have good reason. The basic point of my post is still there...using VPC or somesuch, it is possible to run Windows on a PPC Mac, even full screen. And the Mac can also act as a remote network client on a Windows PC.

brockbr
Apr 5, 2006, 08:28 PM
Super PI results - 34 seconds for 1M

MBP 2.1 w/ 1Gb RAM & 7,200 RPM drive.

Also setting up my 20" iMac as we type. Will post numbers for it too.


BTW, Far Cry runs nice ;)

Takumi
Apr 5, 2006, 08:44 PM
Super PI results - 34 seconds for 1M
MBP 2.1 w/ 1Gb RAM & 7,200 RPM drive.

That's a fantastic score

Takumi

cbigfoot1987
Apr 5, 2006, 10:23 PM
It is very stable on the mac probably b/c every thing is the top of the line stuff try puttin dell memory in the computer and it locks up just as often!!!

Trust me i tried it when MY MBP came in

glorfindeal
Apr 6, 2006, 06:34 AM
Is superpi multi-threaded to take advantage of the 2 cores?


Glor

Takumi
Apr 6, 2006, 09:47 AM
Is superpi multi-threaded to take advantage of the 2 cores?
Not sure,

Run it with taskmanager open and see if both CPU's are active

Takumi

mkrishnan
Apr 6, 2006, 05:41 PM
It is very stable on the mac probably b/c every thing is the top of the line stuff try puttin dell memory in the computer and it locks up just as often!!!

Trust me i tried it when MY MBP came in

Who does Dell use for memory? Is this really that much of an issue? And semi-OT, I wonder if the Apple Intel motherboards are as picky about RAM as the Apple PPC ones seem to be....

Takumi
Apr 6, 2006, 07:10 PM
I wonder if the Apple Intel motherboards are as picky about RAM as the Apple PPC ones seem to be....
You'd think if you match the timings that you'd be ok

Well now that you can install CPU-Z all you need do is purchace RAM with the same specs as this little wonder of a program tells you.

Takumi

MonksMac
Apr 6, 2006, 09:37 PM
My PC in SuperPi:
AMD Athalon XP 1500+
1337 MHZ
1M
1 minute and 35 secs

plinden
Apr 7, 2006, 03:18 AM
Hmm - iMac Dual Core 1.83GHz

Debian running super_pi in Parallels' VM:
28 seconds to do 20 iterations (ie. 1,000,000 decimal places)

OS X:
62 seconds to do 20 iterations.

Takumi
Apr 7, 2006, 04:47 AM
would appear that super pi is multi threaded, as it would suprise me if a single 1.8GHz core could turn out a time like that.

Great numbers though

Takumi

plinden
Apr 7, 2006, 11:42 AM
would appear that super pi is multi threaded, as it would suprise me if a single 1.8GHz core could turn out a time like that.

Great numbers though

Takumi
Prepare to be surprised. Actually, I'm extremely surprised myself.

My work PC, a Dell D810, 2.26GHz Pentium-M, 2GB RAM, running Fedora Core 3, did 20 iterations in 40 seconds.

But, the run on the iMac VM was in console only. No window manager running. The Dell has lots of other processes running, like KDE, Tomcat, Apache. Still, I don't think that makes up 50%.

I can't be bothered booting into Windows to test it on XP on the Dell.

Takumi
Apr 8, 2006, 09:23 PM
good point, the fact that nothing else was really installed on your mac would help out the time,.

Takumi

Whiteapple
Apr 9, 2006, 09:36 AM
My PC in SuperPi:
AMD Athalon XP 1500+
1337 MHZ
1M
1 minute and 35 secs

1337 MHZ

Why does that make me laugh? :confused:

MonksMac
Apr 26, 2006, 06:36 PM
I dunno!

balamw
Apr 26, 2006, 06:57 PM
I dunno!
Perhaps this'll shed some light:


My PC 1n 5up3rP1:
4MD 47h4|0n XP 1500+
1337 MHZ
1M
1 m1nu73 4nd 35 53c5

mkrishnan
Apr 26, 2006, 08:29 PM
Perhaps this'll shed some light:

Those n00bs at |\/|$ are really going to f33l it when wh3n the |\|xt generation Intel processors come out with the pwn3d extensions. :rolleyes:

Jasonbot
Nov 15, 2006, 11:06 AM
:rolleyes: pwn3d X73nsi0n5? WTF r j00 t4lk1ng 4b0u7? M$ d0n7 r3411y c4r3 4b0u7 |*r0c3550r5 |\/|uch, bu7 a 1337 pr0c3550r 15 r3411`/ 1337 3\/3n 1f 17 i5 4MD!

BTW, 4 j00 n00bs wh0 c4n7 spk l33t ch3ck 7h15 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leet)

mkrishnan
Nov 15, 2006, 03:04 PM
BTW, 4 j00 n00bs wh0 c4n7 spk l33t ch3ck 7h15 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leet)

And for those n00bs who can't read post dates before replying? :eek: ;) :D

Jasonbot
Nov 16, 2006, 06:02 AM
^^ lol, my bad! You know when you're browsing the foorums you just want to have fun, there's no time to check post dates :(