PDA

View Full Version : Image of XP SP2 / Slipstreaming on a Mac?




asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 03:07 PM
EDIT Nevermind.



mrichmon
Apr 6, 2006, 03:30 PM
An alternative is to use the PC to slipstream SP2 into your existing Windows XP installation CD. But since you cannot burn the slipstreamed CD, just make a disk image on the PC using WinISO or ISOBuster to save the ISO disk image.

Transfer the disk image to a Mac with a CDR and burn the disk that way.

EvilDoc
Apr 6, 2006, 03:34 PM
Hey everybody, as far as I know nobody's posted a thread about this particular stuff; there've only been a few fairly unanswered questions in a couple of threads.

At my house, we only have Macs, save one PC that my dad uses for some work stuff. It runs Windows XP, and currently has SP2 installed. We have the XP (original) disc; SP2 was a download-and-install. Unfortunately, the computer doesn't have a CD burner (I know, I know). Our XP disc is legal, and we have the product key for it.

I've basically figured out that I can install XP SP2 on my computer by doing one of these two things:

1. Somebody else creates a slipstreamed disc image of XP SP2 and sends it to me (all my friends are Mac users; this is one of the few times when I regret that) that I will burn on my MBP via Toast.

2. I make my own slipstreamed disc image by using the XP (original) disc and the SP2 download.

The only PPC Mac in our house is my brother's that his school gave him; he doesn't have admin so I can't download/install VPC. Due to all of these, I would need to either obtain a disc image of XP SP2 (and use our own serial number) or make the disc myself on an Intel Mac. Onmac.net gives some instructions (http://www.pirates.com/) for the latter, but they're amazingly complicated for me, and that's only to slipstream the XP SP2 disc for the XOM solution to booting XP; I need to slipstream the SP2 stuff into the XP (original) stuff.

Can anybody help me with this? I can't wait to pwn my cousins on CS:S. :)

since you have a macbook bro, make the slipstream cd on the pc and then hookup a ethernet cable between the pc and macbook and just transfer the image.. that should work

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 05:59 PM
EDIT I hate PC's.

mrichmon
Apr 6, 2006, 06:03 PM
:confused: Tried it; the CD drive won't open. :mad: I hate PC's.

If the CD drive on the PC is dead then you can always make an image of the Windows installer CD on a Mac. Transfer the CD image to the PC. Open the CD image on the PC using WinISO and copy all the files off the CD image.

At this point you just need to follow the instructions for slipstreaming SP2 into your installer and then build a CD image from the slipstreamed directory. Copy the new CD image to a mac with a working CD burner and burn the image to a CD (ensuring that you are burning the image to the CD as an image rather than as a file).

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 06:18 PM
If the CD drive on the PC is dead then you can always make an image of the Windows installer CD on a Mac. Transfer the CD image to the PC. Open the CD image on the PC using WinISO and copy all the files off the CD image.

At this point you just need to follow the instructions for slipstreaming SP2 into your installer and then build a CD image from the slipstreamed directory. Copy the new CD image to a mac with a working CD burner and burn the image to a CD (ensuring that you are burning the image to the CD as an image rather than as a file).

Alright; thanks.

Can Disk Utility burn a .iso?

mrichmon
Apr 6, 2006, 06:21 PM
Alright; thanks.

Can Disk Utility burn a .iso?

Yes

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 06:22 PM
Yes

Could tell me how? I've only burned a disk image once, and that was a good 2 or 3 years ago...

mrichmon
Apr 6, 2006, 06:26 PM
Could tell me how? I've only burned a disk image once, and that was a good 2 or 3 years ago...


Open Disk Utitily.
Select menu Images->Burn...
Select .iso file
Click "Burn"

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 06:28 PM
Open Disk Utitily.
Select menu Images->Burn...
Select .iso file
Click "Burn"


Alright; I'll try that and let you guys know how it goes. Thanks for the advice!

EvilDoc
Apr 6, 2006, 07:53 PM
now i have ran into a problem when i restart to windows to do the install i get stuck at a black screen that says bcdw and a cursor that just blinks... any ideas? :confused:

asherman13
Apr 6, 2006, 08:18 PM
Another question: Can Mac's mount .iso's? If so, what happens when you do?

bousozoku
Apr 6, 2006, 08:37 PM
Illegal activities are not supported on MacRumors.