PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard Not Working During XP Install




carlhancock
Apr 7, 2006, 03:55 PM
I have a 2ghz Macbook Pro and i'm encountering a strange problem getting XP installed using Boot Camp.

- I have the latest version of OSX (software update has been run)
- I have the latest firmware
- I have used Boot Camp to partition the drive

I am able to start the XP installation process but it doesn't recognize the keyboard so I can't get past the first stage of the installation. I get to the screen where you need to press ENTER to continue and nothing happens. It doesn't recognize the keyboard commands.

I also tried it with an MSDN disc that included installs of Home, Pro, and Table editions with service pack 2 where you have to pick which version you want to install as the first step... and again it doesn't recognize the keyboard.

I have also tried it with a USB keyboard hooked up and again... no dice. No keyboard = no install.

What the hell is going on?

Has anyone encountered this or know of a solution?



Kizuel
Apr 7, 2006, 04:12 PM
I have a 2ghz Macbook Pro and i'm encountering a strange problem getting XP installed using Boot Camp.

- I have the latest version of OSX (software update has been run)
- I have the latest firmware
- I have used Boot Camp to partition the drive

I am able to start the XP installation process but it doesn't recognize the keyboard so I can't get past the first stage of the installation. I get to the screen where you need to press ENTER to continue and nothing happens. It doesn't recognize the keyboard commands.

I also tried it with an MSDN disc that included installs of Home, Pro, and Table editions with service pack 2 where you have to pick which version you want to install as the first step... and again it doesn't recognize the keyboard.

I have also tried it with a USB keyboard hooked up and again... no dice. No keyboard = no install.

What the hell is going on?

Has anyone encountered this or know of a solution?

Yes, I had the same problem and realized that it was my Mighty Mouse that was causing the problem. Try unplugging all your USB devices on your MBP.

carlhancock
Apr 7, 2006, 04:16 PM
Yes, I had the same problem and realized that it was my Mighty Mouse that was causing the problem. Try unplugging all your USB devices on your MBP.

I don't have any external usb devices attached. I tried attaching a USB keyboard to see if that would work, but it didn't. But otherwise, I don't have any devices attached.

Kizuel
Apr 7, 2006, 04:21 PM
I don't have any external usb devices attached. I tried attaching a USB keyboard to see if that would work, but it didn't. But otherwise, I don't have any devices attached.

Hmm, I dunno then...I had to try installing 3 times, and everytime the keyboard didn't work until I started the installation without my mouse plugged in. Maybe it wasn't the mouse, maybe it was....my advice then is to just keep trying. :(

carlhancock
Apr 7, 2006, 04:37 PM
Hmm, I dunno then...I had to try installing 3 times, and everytime the keyboard didn't work until I started the installation without my mouse plugged in. Maybe it wasn't the mouse, maybe it was....my advice then is to just keep trying. :(

It appears it was due to the MSDN install CD I was trying to use (which was XP Pro w/SP2).

I tested it with a Dell XP Pro w/sP2 cd and it works.

So apparently is picky with what install cd it does and doesn't work with.

LightTHIS
Apr 17, 2006, 10:32 PM
I am having the exact same keyboard issue with my MacBook Pro, but I am installing with an XP Home SP2 disc....no USB devices attached, I can't afford another version of Windows XP, anything I can do??



Thanks,
Ryan

kainjow
Apr 18, 2006, 01:28 AM
You can always try buying a cheap USB or PS/2 (with USB adapter) keyboard and using that instead of the built-in keyboard.

Salamander
May 12, 2006, 05:26 PM
I'm also having the same problem. 2ghz Macbook Pro, can't get past the initial screen with or without an external keyboard.

The XP disk I have is WXP Pro SP2, it's from an iso I got from my brother and I burned using disk utility.

I have no other devices plugged in, I've tried four or five times.

bobalina
May 20, 2006, 12:04 AM
i have my new macbook and i too are having keyboard problems

im using a disk without sp2. is it really that fussy that it needs one with sp 2?

TexBiker
May 20, 2006, 02:00 AM
im using a disk without sp2. is it really that fussy that it needs one with sp 2?
Yes, but there are some slipstreaming work-arounds.

The instructions specifically state that you need SP2 for bootcamp to work properly.

bobalina
May 20, 2006, 03:15 AM
Yes, but there are some slipstreaming work-arounds.

The instructions specifically state that you need SP2 for bootcamp to work properly.


thanks , i found one

VoodooDaddy
May 23, 2006, 06:12 AM
Yes, but there are some slipstreaming work-arounds.

The instructions specifically state that you need SP2 for bootcamp to work properly.

I'm very close to buying my first mac, now that I can still use XP. I see this keyboard thing popping up in numerous threads and getting a little scared by it honestly.

My copy of XP home was bought about a week after XP was released, so there is no SP1, let alone SP2. so if I don't have SP2 then I can't get the keyboard to work apparently.

I do believe I ordered the SP2 disc from MS so I have it, but not on the same disc. Is there a guide for this "slipstreaming" people are talking about?

balamw
May 23, 2006, 06:43 AM
Is there a guide for this "slipstreaming" people are talking about?
Try: http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp among others...

B

VoodooDaddy
May 23, 2006, 07:27 AM
^ thanks, seems pretty straightforward and easy enough.

I actually can't wait to get my mac (either mini duo or the 17" imac, haven't decided). Started thinking about getting a mac a couple yrs ago (registered at this site in 03) but just never could get myself to completely jump over without some kind of saftey net like Boot Camp provides. IMO its a stroke of genius what they decided to do, allow those of us that want to try a mac do so while allowing us to ween ourselves off windows.

yo-man
Jun 17, 2007, 12:58 AM
hey ya'll, so i was suffering the same problems with the keybord not working with the boot-camp instalation of MS XP on my mac book pro... But i figured out a way for it to work, try messing around with the settings in the countroll pannel for they key board and mouse, i turned all the fancey track pad stuff off, and changed the key board from controlling softwear to controlling hardware (this was the ticket i think), also clean the CD before you start, GOOD LUCK!

sick windows viruses here i come baby!

dswoodley
Jun 17, 2007, 01:37 AM
You can always try buying a cheap USB or PS/2 (with USB adapter) keyboard and using that instead of the built-in keyboard.

this is what worked for me. only cost $8.,

rbhun
Jul 16, 2007, 03:29 AM
Hi all, I ran into the same problem. I was really suprised, as first time I was able to install my Windows, but ran into the SP2 problem. Then later I got an SP2 disk, and wasnt able to install it, as the Macbook Pro's keyboard was completly dead. I couldnt get thru the first installer screen. deleting the Xp partition did not helped.

Then I noticed that my USB ShuttleXpress is not plugged in. Somebody used a usb key on the mac, and unplugged the device. I plugged it back, but it did not helped. After some thinking, I remembered that the shuttle has a setup utility, and we change it every time we start Final Cut. I started OSX, started the FCP, and set the other setting (which is the default one, so theoritically that was the active), and restarted - and voila, there was my working keyboard!

Summary: the MBP USB keyboard is extremely picky about the USB devices you have plugged in, especially by the time Bootcamp is installed. Seems to me that you need to have the exact setup as you had by the time of the Bootcamp install.

Balazs