PDA

View Full Version : G4 motherboard in a G3 case?




Sweetfeld28
Apr 9, 2006, 09:47 AM
What G4 motherboard would work in a B/W G3 case?

Of course i realize that i could stick a G4 Zif in the one i have, but the motherboard i have has been giving me tons of issues.



drj434343
Apr 10, 2006, 08:55 PM
I think it will except for the rear panel, most of the connectors for the MB are in different positions. You'll have to find a way to swap the panels or cuting it away entirely.

Sweetfeld28
Apr 10, 2006, 09:40 PM
thanks for the reply, but i noticed that the ports won't match. so, i decided not to try that out after all, instead it would make more sense to just find an older Yikes G4.

Thanks again, Ryan

disconap
Apr 11, 2006, 03:55 PM
Any board will work with some tweaking/modding. Remember that it's just a case, and you can always fix anything you do to it, and you should be fine. Just cut away at what you need!