PDA

View Full Version : 1.33 and 1.42 GHz iBook (last rev) owners! Look here!




eXan
Apr 15, 2006, 04:25 AM
Hello, thanks for coming!

I was wondering recently, at what clock Radeon 9550 is running on last rev. iBooks? I read somewhere that 9550 is a bugged down version of 9600, but I want to see the core and memory clock speeds.

You can view them from ATIccelerator tool. :)



dmw007
Apr 15, 2006, 05:33 AM
According to ATIccelerator II, my GPU is at 238.5MHz and the VRAM is running at 366.75MHz.

Of course, I might have bumped it up a MHz or two..... ;) :D

eXan
Apr 15, 2006, 08:20 AM
According to ATIccelerator II, my GPU is at 238.5MHz and the VRAM is running at 366.75MHz.

Of course, I might have bumped it up a MHz or two..... ;) :D

366 mhz memory? Is that doubled? you know, its DDR...

So I guess the "real" memory speed is 183.4 mhz.

Anyone else?

thehype31
Apr 15, 2006, 10:02 AM
Mine's running at 209.25MHz for the processor and 183.38Mhz for the video memory... both are set for stock speed.

dmw007
Apr 15, 2006, 11:49 AM
...both are set for stock speed.

Where is the fun it that? ;) :D

thehype31
Apr 15, 2006, 11:52 AM
Where is the fun it that? ;) :D

Haha, I just got it two weeks ago and haven't gotten up enough courage to see how far I can push it:D

dmw007
Apr 15, 2006, 01:13 PM
Haha, I just got it two weeks ago and haven't gotten up enough courage to see how far I can push it:D

Understandable. :)

Rocksaurus
Apr 15, 2006, 01:44 PM
Mine's running at 209.25MHz for the processor and 183.38Mhz for the video memory... both are set for stock speed.

That's also what mine's at (stock)... Is the purpose of this thread to know what they come clocked at (stock) or to see how high up they can go? I haven't tried overclocking mine yet because the most demanding game I play is Warcraft III... :o

dmw007
Apr 15, 2006, 02:20 PM
Is the purpose of this thread to know what they come clocked at (stock) or to see how high up they can go?


I believe its the former, not the latter.


I haven't tried overclocking mine yet because the most demanding game I play is Warcraft III... :o

I had to boost my card up a bit so that I could play Doom 3 on my iBook G4. While not great, it was actually playable once I raised the MHz slightly. :)

sk1985
Apr 15, 2006, 02:30 PM
Does anyone know how high iBook owners can boost up their Ati cards safely? Is it only in small increments (1 to 5 mhz gains) or can we boost the hell out of our cards (i.e 60 to 100 mhz gains)?

The same goes for the Vram.

Laser47
Apr 15, 2006, 02:45 PM
Memory: 182.25
GPU 209.25

rye9
Apr 15, 2006, 03:18 PM
where do i find this info on my iBook?

iPoster
Apr 15, 2006, 03:38 PM
I don't know about the Mobility 9550, but the PC AGP card is set at 250Mhz Core and 200Mhz(DDR) RAM, mine is overclocked to stock 9600 speeds (325Mhz Core, same memory) and has been running fine for about a year with the stock passive heatsink.

A 9550 is just an underclocked 9600, same GPU (RV350) an all that. :cool:

Whether this level of overclock applies to the Mobility chip in a tight laptop enclosure, I am not sure of... :rolleyes:

eXan
Apr 15, 2006, 11:32 PM
A 9550 is just an underclocked 9600, same GPU (RV350) an all that

And 9600 in Apple machines is also heavily underclocked, so there are almost no limits in overclocking ;) (of course there are, dont try to find them! :eek: )

Thank you guys for the replyes! :)

StarbucksSam
Apr 16, 2006, 05:11 PM
How does one figure out this information? I have a PowerBook and I'd like to post to have it analyzed.

Laser47
Apr 16, 2006, 05:17 PM
How does one figure out this information? I have a PowerBook and I'd like to post to have it analyzed.
http://mapage.noos.fr/campahunta/index.html
Download it.

mikemodena
Apr 16, 2006, 05:20 PM
I gotta try this. I tried using my iBook to play Wolfenstein ET and I kept getting fragged because whenever there was heavy fire I'd get like 5 fps. On my PowerMac, it's flawless play constantly.

StarbucksSam
Apr 16, 2006, 05:34 PM
I just realized that I have a GeForce graphics processor. That's why it won't work. Oops.

Eidorian
Apr 16, 2006, 05:34 PM
I don't game that much anymore so I might underclock my G5 so that it runs a bit cooler. The GPU is in the same duct as the CPU.

Now if I could only mess with the CPU...

mikemodena
Apr 16, 2006, 05:58 PM
I tried Wolfenstein ET again and it was noticeably improved with 25% overclocking. I started at 210 MHz, incase anyone was wondering. I just wonder how much this will affect the life of my machine. Should I set it back to stock? Obviously it helps more than it hurts, but will there be much more added heat?

I'm still trying to decide if I should clock up my 9800 Pro on my PowerMac when I get home. It's pretty hot as it is, so I might just leave that one alone.

Eidorian
Apr 16, 2006, 06:12 PM
You're going to notice more heat and less battery life. There's a slim chance that prolonged overclocking or an error in the kernel extension could fry your card.

mikemodena
Apr 16, 2006, 06:17 PM
You're going to notice more heat and less battery life. There's a slim chance that prolonged overclocking or an error in the kernel extension could fry your card.

And it is now back to Stock.:p

Eidorian
Apr 16, 2006, 06:21 PM
And it is now back to Stock.:pI said it was slim. If it was an older machine I'd say have fun. I overclocked a Rage 128 Pro for months on end with no ill effect. Then again this was back when the card was new.

GimmeSlack12
Apr 17, 2006, 04:36 AM
mine is overclocked to stock 9600 speeds (325Mhz Core, same memory) and has been running fine for about a year with the stock passive heatsink.
You have your settings both up to 325Mhz??? Wow, I took it up to 300mhz each and the screen starting freaking out. Which of course freaked me out. Everything is fine. But Yeah, quick lesson, going too high with the overclocking will get you some effed-up results.

BlizzardBomb
Apr 17, 2006, 05:09 AM
And 9600 in Apple machines is also heavily underclocked, so there are almost no limits in overclocking ;) (of course there are, dont try to find them! :eek: )

Thank you guys for the replyes! :)

Are you speaking from experience? My 9600 in my iMac G5 was clocked at the regular speeds (wasn't underclocked by Apple). :)

eXan
Apr 17, 2006, 05:19 AM
Are you speaking from experience? My 9600 in my iMac G5 was clocked at the regular speeds (wasn't underclocked by Apple). :)

Yes I know that (I also have rad 9600 in my iMac)

The clock speeds, according to ATIccelerator II are 324 MHz core and 202.5 memory, which is lower than regular mobility 9600 (350+ MHz core, cant find memory clocks)

Apple ALWAYS underclocks cards that come with their computers. Why do you think 9600 is so overclockable? Only becasue its been underclocked before

BlizzardBomb
Apr 17, 2006, 05:24 AM
Yes I know that (I also have rad 9600 in my iMac)

The clock speeds, according to ATIccelerator II are 324 MHz core and 202.5 memory, which is lower than regular mobility 9600 (350+ MHz core, cant find memory clocks)

Apple ALWAYS underclocks cards that come with their computers. Why do you think 9600 is so overclockable? Only becasue its been underclocked before

Scroll down to the chart. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_R300

Different cards handle overclocking differently :)

eXan
Apr 17, 2006, 05:34 AM
Scroll down to the chart. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_R300

Hmm... interesting article, makes me think that I might be wrong... ;)

Still, it says 9600's core is 325 MHz, while I have 324 :D lol

Anyway, I seem to have confused my judgments with 9600XT! :eek:

dmw007
Apr 17, 2006, 06:41 AM
Still, it says 9600's core is 325 MHz, while I have 324 :D lol


eXan, you have been ripped off my friend. I would call up Apple and demand that extra 1MHz. ;) :)

FireArse
Apr 17, 2006, 07:11 AM
Where canI find out the most reasonable increase to my stock 9600xt?

Thanks,

F

atticus1178
Apr 17, 2006, 12:22 PM
I've got an iBook G4, current rev, what is a feasible increase in speed without damaging my graphics card?

Eidorian
Apr 17, 2006, 12:24 PM
Hmm... interesting article, makes me think that I might be wrong... ;)

Still, it says 9600's core is 325 MHz, while I have 324 :D lol

Anyway, I seem to have confused my judgments with 9600XT! :eek:Yeah, I checked my stock GPU and memory speeds on my 9600 before I did anything. I got 324 with stock being 325. :D

eXan
Apr 18, 2006, 02:43 AM
I got 324 with stock being 325. :D

I'm not alone :D