Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

monroepq

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 24, 2004
A very hot place
I'm totally new to programming, and decided to start out with the help of sam's teach yourself c++. Already though I'm stumped, I can't even get my first hello world program to run. I'm using gcc as installed with the os x developer tools. Everytime I try to compile the follower:
#include <iostream>
int main()
{
std::cout << "Hello World!\n";
return 0;
}
I get these errors:
hello.c:1:22: error: iostream.h: No such file or directory
hello.c: In function 'main':
hello.c:4: error: 'cout' undeclared (first use in this function)

I've tried to figure out what exactly is the problem, like changing iostream to iostream.h, and also figuring out if the problem is that I don't have the files. It seems weird that gcc wouldn't be configured to at least compile this, any thoughts? Or suggestions on where to get more info on gcc or a different compiler?

therevolution

macrumors 6502
May 12, 2003
gcc is for compiling C programs. For C++ programs, you should use g++.

And before anyone jumps in and tries to tell me how gcc and g++ are the same thing, you can save it. Let's keep it simple for the beginners, please.

steelphantom

macrumors 6502a
Oct 15, 2005
Your file should also be called "hello.cpp," not "hello.c" since you're programming in C++.

monroepq

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 24, 2004
A very hot place
heh.. guess i'm really a beginner i thought i was going crazy or had bought a book full of errors, had no idea the problem was so simple. thanks.

Soulstorm

macrumors 68000
Feb 1, 2005
monroepq said:
heh.. guess i'm really a beginner i thought i was going crazy or had bought a book full of errors, had no idea the problem was so simple. thanks.