PDA

View Full Version : Newbie at PIC/microcontroller programming

not batman
Jun 27, 2006, 12:35 AM
Sorry since there is already a thread about programming microcontrollers, but I thought it better to make a whole new thread rather than hijack that one.

Basically the most experience I have with programming is a bit of very simple Basic Stamp work. I'm an art student and programming isn't really my forte, but after taking an electronics class at my Uni I have become very interested in integrating electronics into my work.

I am getting pretty comfortable with programming my Basic Stamp (through the program MacBS2 http://www.muratnkonar.com/otherstuff/macbs2/) but I like the idea of how cheap PIC chips are. I don't really like the idea of having to shell our ~ $50 every time I manage to make and sell another electronic piece of art.

SO! Getting to my point (finally :P) I want to learn to program PIC chips, and I want to do it on my Mac. I don't know if there is some way of programming them in some sort of Basic language, since I have no clue at all about programming in C, but I am sure I can learn pretty quickly and pick things up as I need to know them.
If anyone could point me to some resources, tutorials, anything at all. Heck, even just tell me to give up now and stick with the Basic Stamp if you think that would be most appropriate. Really, anything to get me started on the way of programming PIC chips/microcontrollers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance!
And if there is any more information as to what experience/equipment I have available I would be happy to divulge such details.

balamw
Jun 27, 2006, 01:17 AM
Sounds like you would really benefit from biting the bullet and learning C or Assembly and working with PICs. My limited PIC experience has been using Windows based tools so I can't be of much direct assistance, except to say look to the linux community for lots of help that could be portable to OS X...