PDA

View Full Version : Changin a windows application to a mac one




elisha cuthbert
Jun 28, 2006, 11:09 PM
What do i need to change a windows application to a mac one, or port it (i think i heard someone say that about this operation)
and would it be easy or extremly difficult
any input would be great



jsw
Jun 28, 2006, 11:12 PM
Unless it's in Java or some other platform-sort-of-independent language, you'd need the source code and a lot of knowledge to port it - if it could even be ported.

What is it you want to use on the Mac that's on Windows now? Perhaps it's already been ported or there's an equivalent.

Also, of course, there are the Virtual PC/Parallels/Boot Camp (depending on your Mac) option(s).

elisha cuthbert
Jun 28, 2006, 11:48 PM
Unless it's in Java or some other platform-sort-of-independent language, you'd need the source code and a lot of knowledge to port it - if it could even be ported.

What is it you want to use on the Mac that's on Windows now? Perhaps it's already been ported or there's an equivalent.

Also, of course, there are the Virtual PC/Parallels/Boot Camp (depending on your Mac) option(s).
its nokia theme 40 studio and i dont think that its been released on a mac before and i dont think that they are even considering it

jsw
Jun 28, 2006, 11:51 PM
its nokia theme 40 studio and i dont think that its been released on a mac before and i dont think that they are even considering it
Well, I work there, and I can assure you that porting that code would drive anyone insane.

Use VirtualPC or Parallels, or just use a Windows machine for it. Or just use Bluetooth to move sounds and pics back and forth.

elisha cuthbert
Jun 28, 2006, 11:59 PM
Well, I work there, and I can assure you that porting that code would drive anyone insane.

Use VirtualPC or Parallels, or just use a Windows machine for it. Or just use Bluetooth to move sounds and pics back and forth.
yea the problem with just sounds and pics is i want to make themes like i used to be able to with Theme Creator for my k700i except for my nokia 6280

wmmk
Jun 29, 2006, 12:00 AM
Use VirtualPC or Parallels, or just use a Windows machine for it. Or just use Bluetooth to move sounds and pics back and forth.
Q is also very good, and it's free.

elisha cuthbert
Jun 29, 2006, 12:01 AM
Q is also very good, and it's free.
i recently bought Virtual PC and installed windows 2000 with it so im set for emulations i just wanted to make a native application

mduser63
Jun 29, 2006, 12:37 AM
You can't make a native application without the source code (which you don't have), and even then, it's a huge job most of the time. Not something for someone just starting out with programming.

elisha cuthbert
Jun 30, 2006, 08:20 PM
which code would be easyier to port over native windows or Java?

Sun Baked
Jun 30, 2006, 08:27 PM
If you are the developer that wrote the application, you would start here ...

Getting Started with Porting (http://developer.apple.com/referencelibrary/GettingStarted/GS_Porting/index.html)

If you are looking at porting an off-the-shelf application, you will be SOL. And it would likely be $250k+ dollars in legal/consulting fees and begging with the company for the app you want get ported -- before you even see any code to play with. More likely, if they won't even talk to you -- if they think you are a no talent hack, that isn't currently in the business of porting apps as a business.

Buy a PC, or in the case of share/beer ware -- they may be happy to offload the task of doing it to you. Of course you will also be looking at maintaining the code in the future.

mduser63
Jun 30, 2006, 09:05 PM
which code would be easyier to port over native windows or Java?

Java would be MUCH easier to port over as it's intended from the start to be cross-platform. However, again, unless you have the source code, it's not going to happen.

slooksterPSV
Jul 2, 2006, 09:30 PM
There is 1 way of doing it but it'd probably take quite a while ( a few months for Windows notepad) (a few years for Adobe Photoshop). But here's what you'd have to do:
1 - Debug the application; I mean debug it from memory reference 0000 to xxxx. Windows debug, I think, allows you to do this, otherwise you need a debug app like GDC to open the app and run it through.
2 - You have to know Assembly to figure out what the instructions are.
3 - Figure out what language you'd program it in, decide how to define the variables (int, double, char, char *, etc.) and how to flow the program.
4 - Actually program the program taking all the information from 3 and 2 to write it all - including the specific libraries if any are used etc. etc.

All in all its worthless. It'd be better to just program your own app in java bc Java is cross-platform and needs no recompiling.

savar
Jul 2, 2006, 11:33 PM
What do i need to change a windows application to a mac one, or port it (i think i heard someone say that about this operation)
and would it be easy or extremly difficult
any input would be great

go to tools->options and then click on the checkbox that says "run as mac application"

tdhurst
Jul 3, 2006, 07:55 PM
go to tools->options and then click on the checkbox that says "run as mac application"

No, no. They just changed that.

It's now tools->options and click on "run as universal binary."