PDA

View Full Version : Cheap Kingston Memory!


Wano
Mar 2, 2003, 10:57 PM
I found 512mb ddr pc2700 sticks for $66 at www.googlegear.com ....here i the link
http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80065-K

has anyone ordered from this place?...it seems really cheap, but then again they are dealtime certified.

They also have other good deals...like a WD 120gb hard drive with 8mb buffer for $133.50.

Ajmbc
Mar 2, 2003, 11:14 PM
First of all, it was a pretty good idea for you to come here asking, because lots of companies sell bad memory. Kingston is a pretty reliable company, however I have never bought memory from them. Also, it is impossible to look at memory and say "Ooh, this looks like bad memory to me. I shouldn't buy it." I would get it. Make sure it's compatible with your system. Really, when you don't buy memory is when it's from a company no one knows about. Usually harder to get support.

Hope this helps,

=ajmbc=

Wano
Mar 2, 2003, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by Ajmbc
First of all, it was a pretty good idea for you to come here asking, because lots of companies sell bad memory. Kingston is a pretty reliable company, however I have never bought memory from them. Also, it is impossible to look at memory and say "Ooh, this looks like bad memory to me. I shouldn't buy it." I would get it. Make sure it's compatible with your system. Really, when you don't buy memory is when it's from a company no one knows about. Usually harder to get support.

Hope this helps,

=ajmbc=

Thanks!...yeah I've heard good stuff about Kingston so far...and I am pretty sure it's compatible with the new dual 1.25ghz PM G4 that i am getting.

sparkleytone
Mar 3, 2003, 12:01 AM
512MB FOR NEW APPLE G4 PC2700 DDR TYPE
FOR G4 1GHZ , 1.25GHZ OR 1.42GHZ
$63.00 (http://www.18004memory.com/category.asp?catid=9&subcatid=904)

a very reliable vendor


also is $75 at otherworld, one of the best mac dealers.

Apple][Forever
Mar 3, 2003, 01:04 AM
other world IS the best mac dealer. never bought something from them i didn't like.

bousozoku
Mar 3, 2003, 06:47 PM
I wouldn't buy Kingston memory for anything. I just went through a two week period without my WinXP machine at work because Kingston memory was causing the machine to constantly re-boot.

Would you say 30 times of re-booting in one morning would be enough to be annoying?

AmbitiousLemon
Mar 3, 2003, 08:16 PM
http://www.ramseeker.com/ is the only place to look for prices on mac ram.

ramseeker isnt a vendor. it is a site that checks ram prices from a bunch of ram vendors and brings all the info together for you. dont buy ram without checking prices at ramseeker.com first.

(btw $57 512mb of ddr2700 ram list at ramseekeró link here (http://www.ramseeker.com/scripts/sortModelDetails.php?modelId=30&sortSize=512mb)

DreaminDirector
Mar 4, 2003, 12:40 AM
Yeah, does anyone have any problems with Memory4cheap.com? They have 512MB PC2700 DDR RAM for 57 bucks. That's an awesome deal, but I want to see if anyone else has ever dealt with them. They do have a lifetime warrenty on them, so that makes me feel alittle better.

What's your opinion guys?!?

AllenPSU
Mar 13, 2003, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by Ajmbc
Kingston is a pretty reliable company, however I have never bought memory from them.

Just my 2 Cents....

:) I have had a 10MB Kingston card in my PB-180 and several 1MB SIMMS in my MAC II that all worked great so I bought two 512MB modules for my Quicksilver last year. So far Kingston has been good to me. No problems!

Now the rest of the story...

:( Memory I bought for my PowerMac 7600 from APS was aweful (64MB DIMMS). I have about half of those modules in my drawer because they don't work well together. My lesson learned from all this was to buy from good name memory manufactures that guarantee compatibility.

Good Luck!

crazzyeddie
Mar 13, 2003, 02:19 PM
Otherworld (www.macsales.com) is the best period. I would buy anything and everything from them. Inexpensive shipping, products, and great support.

Funkatation
Mar 13, 2003, 02:37 PM
go to newegg.com

they sell crucial, kingston, and other BRAND NAME memory. they had 512MB Kingston PC2700 for $57 w/ lifetime warranty. I've ordered from them a bunch.

Datazoid
Mar 13, 2003, 02:46 PM
Another website to use for RAM price comparison is http://www.dealram.com

AllenPSU
Mar 13, 2003, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by crazzyeddie
Otherworld (www.macsales.com) is the best period. I would buy anything and everything from them. Inexpensive shipping, products, and great support.

I've bought processor upgrades and other hardware from OWC but I haven't had any luck with their memory. This may have been due to the other memory I already had.

Another bad thing about OWC is that they have a pretty strict return/upgrade policy. I had bought some RAM from them (that they recommended) for a laserprinter and then when it didn't work, they told me to upgrade to some better RAM. i had to ship the old RAM back, they charged me the difference and a restock fee on the old RAM, and the new stuff still didn't work.

It was only $15 a SIMM so I just threw it away.

the_enigma
Mar 14, 2003, 07:42 AM
what is the difference between pc2100 and pc2700 ram? i've got a new 1ghz powermac, and thought that i should be getting pc2100 ram, but one of the websites someone listed advertised pc2700 as being good for all 3 of the new powermacs, despite the fact that the 1gigger only has a 133mhz system bus. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Over Achiever
Mar 14, 2003, 08:04 AM
the PC2700 might work for the slower bus speeds...its backward compatible i think.

Just like you can use PC133 memory for systems w/ a 100 MHz bus.

But don't take my word for it ;)

hugemullens
Mar 14, 2003, 08:31 AM
PC2700 is for a 167Mhz bus; It will work just fine in a 133mhz buss, but there will be no performance gain between the two.

TyleRomeo
Mar 14, 2003, 08:43 AM
yeah i just bought a 512 DDR 2700 dimm from crucial and it worked like a charm. Got mine for $75 and have a lifetime warranty.

Tyler

Over Achiever
Mar 14, 2003, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by hugemullens
PC2700 is for a 167Mhz bus; It will work just fine in a 133mhz buss, but there will be no performance gain between the two.

Thats what i meant...thanks for clearing that up. :)