PDA

View Full Version : Did any Mac people get into the Warcraft 3 Beta?


WannabeSQ
Mar 3, 2003, 12:56 PM
My (PC) friend did, and it is awesome, even being slightly unbalanced, but there is a whole new depth to it. It's not all finished, but what is there is fun fun fun.

Jeffx342
Mar 3, 2003, 01:26 PM
Not yet, I hope I get picked

iJon
Mar 3, 2003, 01:57 PM
they have already picked the people. if you havent gotten an email by now you are not in. i didnt really care, warcraft games are getting old. build, produce and kill. its just getting pointless to me. but with the choice of games on the mac, we dont have much of a choice.

iJon

Vlade
Mar 3, 2003, 03:03 PM
:mad: no i didn't get in...!!!

MrMacMan
Mar 3, 2003, 03:05 PM
Me, and all my friends signed up 10.24 seconds after the beta signup started. (I wrote the sad kiddy script).

So far we haven't go in for any Beta, WCIII, SC, BW... many non-blizz games.

NOTHING AHHH!

GigaWire
Mar 3, 2003, 06:13 PM
i did, but i've not got a mac to play it on until on or before 3.13.2003.

BigJayhawk
Mar 3, 2003, 06:38 PM
Nope -- No offer to me.

Jaykay
Mar 3, 2003, 07:06 PM
[nope]

BrittasMac
Mar 5, 2003, 09:40 PM
I got it :D

Damn, theres some balance issues though. The new Night Elf and Human heroes are really overpowered :eek:

Vlade
Mar 6, 2003, 02:58 PM
I will buy it off you for 10 bucks :)

MaxArturo
Mar 6, 2003, 04:26 PM
I tried and tried after a friend let me know, but couldn't.

Macmaniac
Mar 6, 2003, 09:00 PM
Originally posted by BrittasMac
I got it :D

Damn, theres some balance issues though. The new Night Elf and Human heroes are really overpowered :eek:
POST SCREEN SHOTS!!!!!!

MrMacMan
Mar 6, 2003, 09:20 PM
Yes please, if not More ;) ;) ;)

Share the wealth... well atleast LOOKing at it. :D

BrittasMac
Mar 6, 2003, 09:56 PM
All right, I'll post some low-res screenies.

Hold on while I obtain some...

Perci Mac
Mar 6, 2003, 10:00 PM
Unfortunately I couldn't even sign up. I obtained the game one day after the sign ups closed.:(

Oh well, I've got a friend who made it, and I probably wouldn't have got it anyways.;)

MrMacMan
Mar 6, 2003, 10:07 PM
I'm sure the Beta is making its way around the web. ;)

WannabeSQ
Mar 6, 2003, 10:20 PM
One workaround, if you just wanna play, is find a friend who trust you, and get their key, and play on the other realm, you can both play at the same time one on usa/europe realm, one on asia realm, but don't tell blizzard. Works for me!

Still some balance issues, but the gameplay is definately different, BTW, how do you capture screenies, someone said the game can do it, but it saves it as a nonstandard (ie not jpeg) once i get some (what do you wanna see?) ill post em on my .Mac page

http://homepage.mac.com/mr_papadorgio

it will be there eventually (i got some replays in my file sharing page)

WannabeSQ
Mar 6, 2003, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
I'm sure the Beta is making its way around the web. ;)

Actually it is free to DL, but you need a cd key, so find a friend.

BrittasMac
Mar 6, 2003, 10:23 PM
No point in trying to pirate the beta, it's online only and you need a valid beta tester CD key.

I'll be happy to field any questions about the beta.

iJon
Mar 6, 2003, 10:35 PM
Originally posted by BrittasMac
No point in trying to pirate the beta, it's online only and you need a valid beta tester CD key.

I'll be happy to field any questions about the beta.
dont be so sure, there are ways around that, hehe.

iJon

VegetaPunk
Mar 7, 2003, 08:49 PM
I got in and i think it is so cool - love the blood elves and they did take the heros power down.

now if only blizzard would make a mac version of world of warcraft:rolleyes:

(I know they might but I want a Yes we will from them)

MrMacMan
Mar 9, 2003, 12:30 AM
Need more Screenshots...
:D

Telomar
Mar 9, 2003, 01:29 AM
Just for people who haven't seen he Readme or want to see it here it is.

MrMacMan
Mar 9, 2003, 03:52 PM
Nevermind then... :mad:

mueng
Mar 10, 2003, 05:48 PM
This only works for Windows, but there is a way to play the expansion beta I think as long as you have a War3 cd. Basically you play on the "Warforge" servers, rather than Battle.net.

Go to http://www.blizzbuzz.net

The instructions aren't too difficult, just download beta, the updates, and stuff to connect to Warforge servers.

I hope I don't get addicted to the beta!

(oh yeah and if this is kinda a frowned upon post, my apologies. Please delete)

Vlade
Mar 10, 2003, 06:58 PM
Originally posted by mueng
This only works for Windows, but there is a way to play the expansion beta I think as long as you have a War3 cd. Basically you play on the "Warforge" servers, rather than Battle.net.

Go to http://www.blizzbuzz.net

The instructions aren't too difficult, just download beta, the updates, and stuff to connect to Warforge servers.

I hope I don't get addicted to the beta!

(oh yeah and if this is kinda a frowned upon post, my apologies. Please delete)

Im gunna try to make a hack for the mac, i am guessing the program just changes the server adress of a file, so if I can figure out what that file is, or write my own hack to do that I will release it for the mac.


Also, blizzard just sent out 10000 more CD keys, expect an email if you are in in the next few days.

Jeffx342
Mar 10, 2003, 07:19 PM
I got in!

higgs
Mar 10, 2003, 09:17 PM
i got in too... it's tight. :D :D

orangefoodie
Mar 10, 2003, 09:59 PM
Is it just me, or is it way too unbalanced still? The mountain giants can raze everyone and everything in its way...

MrMacMan
Mar 10, 2003, 10:15 PM
More screenshots needed...

:eats arm:
NOW! ;)

BrittasMac
Mar 10, 2003, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
More screenshots needed...

:eats arm:
NOW! ;)
What do you wish to see?

MrMacMan
Mar 10, 2003, 10:48 PM
Originally posted by BrittasMac
What do you wish to see?

New units.
Spells.

Random coolness.

Screenshots are great because none of you are that generous.

WannabeSQ
Mar 11, 2003, 02:40 AM
all we need now is for someone to make a mac version of the gateway selector tool, and we can all play the beta. There are a TON more people on warforge than regular beta, much easier to find games. for now, i am limited to just my PC :(

iJon
Mar 11, 2003, 02:14 PM
blizzard annouced today that its increasing its beta program by 10000 people today. you dont need to sign up again. if you get in youll be contacted in the next few days.

iJon

MrMacMan
Mar 11, 2003, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by iJon
blizzard annouced today that its increasing its beta program by 10000 people today. you dont need to sign up again. if you get in youll be contacted in the next few days.

iJon

Thay means I need to delete my currently 89% full AOL mailbox.
892/1000 new messages.

Thank you Mr. SPAM.

iJon
Mar 11, 2003, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
Thay means I need to delete my currently 89% full AOL mailbox.
892/1000 new messages.

Thank you Mr. SPAM.
welcome, you got porn mail.

iJon

MrMacMan
Mar 11, 2003, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by iJon
welcome, you got porn mail.

iJon

haha, acually it is macrumors 'e-mail Notification'
Which i turned on when I posted necceary stuff.
now I post all over and the e-mails keep coming.
I think there should be an anti-flood feature.

if you go back to a thread but never post again there and you posted when it opened you get 100+ e-mails.

It takes like 3 min to load mail on cable modem.
:eek:

iJon
Mar 11, 2003, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
haha, acually it is macrumors 'e-mail Notification'
Which i turned on when I posted necceary stuff.
now I post all over and the e-mails keep coming.
I think there should be an anti-flood feature.

if you go back to a thread but never post again there and you posted when it opened you get 100+ e-mails.

It takes like 3 min to load mail on cable modem.
:eek:
haha i know exactly what you mean. when i used to have aol is wall all credit card offers and barnyard sex. i didnt even check my mail anymore. now my mailbox is filled with very few personal emails and a ton of macrumor emails. i do all my work on my powerbook, so my email is always up to date. but whenever i hop in bed i open up my 12 inch powerbook and when iopen mail it retrieves about 200 emails. its crazy and drives me crazy. is there anyway that when you delete mail from my powermac its actually deleteing it from my mail server so its constantly updated with my 12 inch powerbook and my .mac web based mail?

iJon

Omad0n
Mar 12, 2003, 03:20 PM
Originally posted by Vlade
Im gunna try to make a hack for the mac, i am guessing the program just changes the server adress of a file, so if I can figure out what that file is, or write my own hack to do that I will release it for the mac.

Anyone have any thoughts on how to do this? And yes I've played on warforge, and that's all it seems to be doing. Also if I can give my services to the cause in any way please let me know.

MrMacMan
Mar 12, 2003, 05:50 PM
Originally posted by Vlade
Im gunna try to make a hack for the mac, i am guessing the program just changes the server adress of a file, so if I can figure out what that file is, or write my own hack to do that I will release it for the mac.


Also, blizzard just sent out 10000 more CD keys, expect an email if you are in in the next few days.

Yeah woo hoo. I've never gonna get in.

If you get access to warforge great, now all we need is a CD key generator and were all set. ;) :rolleyes:

Edit:
WHY WAS THIS PUT IN WASTELAND. JESUS. WE WERE TALKING ABOUT A REAL GAMING SERVER. WTF!

Omad0n
Mar 12, 2003, 07:33 PM
CD key generator isn't needed. You just need the CD key they've got at the warforge instructions. All that's needed os a way to get on the warforge servers.