Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

geiger

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 2, 2006
I am having to buy a video camera to make a documentary, during the summer. However, I have to buy the camera, before the end of term (I am a teacher). I have been considering the Sony HDR-HC1 digital solution, but the more I read, the more I am thinking that I need a non HD option a 3CCD option with a more pro camera. I would like the documentary to be broadcast quality. I assumed that the HD option would give better pictures, but there are, I believe some shortcomings with that camera including low light and sound. Is the 3CCD option actually better even though it is older technology. Please advise, thank you in anticipation.

Stinkythe1

macrumors regular
Mar 30, 2005
I'd just go with the regular SD option. Get a Canon XL2. It has great quality and even if you had to upres it to HD, it would still look fairly good.

As far as being broadcast quality, several feature films have been made with the XL2, so it's good.

jimsowden

macrumors 68000
Sep 6, 2003
NY