Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dwaxman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2002
My chair
I am the proud owner of a Dual 867 MDD PowerMac with a Superdrive. I am interested in adding a second hard drive to my machine, however I am not interested in opening the machine to peek around and what has to be done. I wish to open my machine only when I know what I am doing, how to do it and why I am doing it. I have built NUMEROUS Wintel boxes myself so working on the inside of the machine is not the issue, my issue is that I am still paying off this box and don't wish to do any harm and I have NEVER done work inside a Mac before. Here are my questions:
1) I would assume that the main drive is on an ATA 100 cable and there should be another plug on that cable for a second drive. Is this so? Do I need to set 'jumpers' to mark one drive as a primary and another as a slave?
2) I would assume there is a hard drive bay in the machine waiting to take another drive. Where is the bay? Does it have any shielding or guards I need to remove? What tool will be needed to do this?
3) All drives require power, is there an open plug on a power harness somewhere? Do I need to get some kind of adaptor to run the power?
4) Does anybody know of a SPECIFIC brand or model of hard drive that would run the best in my machine?

Mblazened

macrumors regular
Dec 20, 2002
The Valley
huh?

Stop being a puss and open the machine. You can't hurt it just by opening it. It won't void your warranty.

Just remember to unplug the computer first. Open the side panel, and take a quick look. The answers to most of your questions will seem obvious.

I trust western digital HDs

-m

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra
To answer your questions, the MDD models use 2 disk carriers that hold 2 drives each.

Apple uses cable select, so master and slave is determined by where it is placed in the carrier.