Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elisha cuthbert

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 25, 2006
Melbourne
How can we protect our graphic designs, i mean no matter what i do i still see my design somewhere else on the internet, even after i have watermarked it

sjpetry

macrumors 65816
Oct 28, 2004
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
You could make the watermark obnoxiously large but, then it would be obnoxious. You could also make the picture smaller, but then it could be obnoxiously small.:(

OutThere

macrumors 603
Dec 19, 2002
NYC
No real way other than searching everywhere, and sending cease and desist letters to people using it...

pknz

macrumors 68020
Mar 22, 2005
NZ
You could keep all your designs to yourself. But then the public will never be able to be inspired by them (or whatever).

beatsme

macrumors 65816
Oct 6, 2005
hate to say this...

You can't. As a graphic designer I've had my stuff copied (most notoriously by a large department store chain based in Tennessee), and while I was flattered that they thought of me, I was a bit irritated at having been violated. Really, all you can do is make sure you've already been PAID for whatever it is that's been stolen. As an individual, you simply don't have the resources to track down and prosecute each and every offender. The only true way to protect yourself is not to post anything that hasn't already been sold...

having said that, what you might try is this:

don't post your artwork as .gif's or .jpg's on your website. Use a thumbnail graphic to show a piece of it, and then link the thumbnail to a .pdf document that opens in a new window. If you make the .pdf document in Acrobat Pro, you can read/write/print protect the document, so anyone who wants to steal it will be able to get only a screenshot of it. At 72ppi, that screenshot won't be worth much.