PDA

View Full Version : superdrive


hugemullens
Mar 8, 2003, 02:39 AM
I know this has probley been a topic of much discussion, but can i simply plug a pioneer A05 in a powermac and have it recongnized as a superdrive??? I need iDVD to work with it. I currently have idvd but assuming it works will upgrade to idvd 3. Thanks.

nuckinfutz
Mar 8, 2003, 05:11 PM
You should be able to just fine.

Check out the "Drive Database" on www.xlr8yourmac.com

hugemullens
Mar 8, 2003, 10:06 PM
Thats an awesome site. Thanks!

wdodd
Mar 9, 2003, 01:42 AM
Can you do the same thing with an iBook? Just swap out the drive to allow it to use iDVD?

nuckinfutz
Mar 9, 2003, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by wdodd
Can you do the same thing with an iBook? Just swap out the drive to allow it to use iDVD?

No ...there is no compatible drive that would fit in the iBook unfortunately.

Kwyjibo
Mar 9, 2003, 08:47 AM
Originally posted by wdodd
Can you do the same thing with an iBook? Just swap out the drive to allow it to use iDVD?

even if there was , idvd requires a g4 so iBook users are out of luck.

SoonToGetAMac
Mar 9, 2003, 11:35 AM
iDVD doesn't need a G4...look at the requirements from the apple store (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/71201/wo/k12McFjg9KrH21jtF6y1vyDvW1X/1.3.0.3.27.8), although they require a SuperDrive, which is only available in a G4, so a G4 may be a requirement for iDVD that Apple doesn't bother mentioning since any of their systems with a SuperDrive have a G4. The best way to test this out would be to ask someone with a G3 tower to pop a SuperDrive in, install iDVD and see if everything works.

buffsldr
Mar 9, 2003, 11:55 AM
Originally posted by SoonToGetAMac
iDVD doesn't need a G4...look at the requirements from the apple store (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/71201/wo/k12McFjg9KrH21jtF6y1vyDvW1X/1.3.0.3.27.8), although they require a SuperDrive, which is only available in a G4, so a G4 may be a requirement for iDVD that Apple doesn't bother mentioning since any of their systems with a SuperDrive have a G4. The best way to test this out would be to ask someone with a G3 tower to pop a SuperDrive in, install iDVD and see if everything works.

idvd requires a G4 to the best of my knowledge. The fact that apple's website does not spell this out is due to the fact they say it only works with apples that come with a superdrive, which are all g4's. If you can get it to work with a G3, more power to you.

Kwyjibo
Mar 9, 2003, 12:46 PM
according to the iDVD 3 section at appple.com the following is listed

System Requirements
To run iDVD 3 you need a SuperDrive equipped iMac, eMac, Power Mac G4, or PowerBook G4 running Mac OS X v 10.1.5 or later (v 10.2.2 or later recommended) and at least 256 MB of RAM.


youll notice they only say powermac G4, the only iMacs or Emcas with superdrive are g4s so I thinnk they are saying u need a g4 for iDVD

info found towards bottom
http://www.apple.com/idvd/features.html

AllenPSU
Mar 13, 2003, 01:15 PM
I read in the newest edition of Mac Addict that there were "some stability" issues when they upgraded their Blue G3 CD-RW drive to a Pioneer A05 drive. I believe they mentioned that the problems were limited if sleep functions were turned off.

I have a G4 Quicksilver and have been thinking about buying one of these A05 drives and wanted to know if anyone has done that yet and if so what problems they have experienced.

Also, Mac Addict states that some sort of firmware update may fix the problem with the AO5... is this similar to the 103/104 firmware updates that apple offers? Any insight would be useful.

davedive
Mar 15, 2003, 01:13 AM
This week i'll recieve my A05.

I will connect it to my internal ide- and powercable and run both outside of the shell of my cube (:D).

Should be a more complicated install than on quicksilver.

I'll report back on how i get on.

Davedive