PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With A Clamshell Ibook.

da2005pizimp
Jul 22, 2006, 01:23 AM
Hey folks, i'm in a real pickle right now. i bought 25 clamshell 466mhz graphite ibooks and whenever i put the HD in and put a disc in the drive to try to install an OS nothing happens, so i pressed the option key and this blue screen with a lock on one side and an arrow on the other, with a space to write in, in the middle. now what i need to know is what should i do? i can put these things together like no one else but when it comes to software i'm lost. i'm going to try to attach the picture of what the screen looks like but i'm not too good at that either. but if someone can get these things up and running i'll give you a complete (no power cord) graphit clamshell for free. basically what i'm trying to say is I NEED HELP ASAP.

I made this same post on www.mac-forums.com here: http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38366

I just figured the more people that help the better.

Chundles
Jul 22, 2006, 01:28 AM
Hmm....

OK, first thing's first.

1. What OS are the iBooks currently running?

2. Have you tried putting in the CD and boot, holding down the 'c' key on the keyboard? That should get the iBook to boot from the disc, then it's a case of using Disc Utility on the CD to format the HDD then install the OS.

Give that a go then report back.

da2005pizimp
Jul 22, 2006, 01:48 AM
Thanks for the quick reply

1. don't know what they are running, got them off of ebay

2. i have tried holding down the "c" key and nothing happens.

I don't know how to down grade my pics to be able to upload them, but there is a picture of what i'm talking about on mac-forums. if you read there you can see what everyone else has suggested. thanks again for you quick reply.

CoMpX
Jul 22, 2006, 02:11 AM