View Full Version : Brand New Macbook pro 17" up on ebay. Shipping discount for macrumors members!
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 01:16 AM
Im selling a Brand New Apple MacBook Pro 17" 2.16ghz/1GB/120GB/ Intel Core Duo WITH NO RESERVE. This notebook sells for over $3000 tax included, off the www.apple.com site.
I only purchased this machine to use up a gift certificate at B&H before it expried! You are going to get one hell of a deal :) You can call me anytime with questions on my cell phone at 732-991-1467.
Serial number W86222TSTHY
About your Apple product
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
W86222TSTHY
Our records indicate that your product is covered under Apple’s Limited Warranty and your estimated date of purchase was 2-Jul-06. Based on this data, your product will be covered by Apple service warranty for 339 more days.
This machine is BRAND NEW and NOT REFURBISHED! The machine has NEVER BEEN REGISTERED!
PRODUCT INFO
Factory Sealed, Unopened Mac book Pro 17"
2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
Accessory Kit
Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
1GB 667 DDR2 - 1 SO-DIMM
MacBook Pro 17-inch Widescreen Display
120GB Serial ATA drive @ 5400 rpm
One FireWire 800, 400 and two USB 2.0 ports
Here is a link to the auction:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=020&item=300011993386
Macrumors members can take $20 off the shipping cost!
mlrproducts
Jul 28, 2006, 01:52 AM
FOR YOUR OWN SAKE, PLEASE TAKE DOWN YOUR CELL PHONE NUMBER NOW!
I wish you would have offered up the BH GC for here first!
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 02:04 AM
FOR YOUR OWN SAKE, PLEASE TAKE DOWN YOUR CELL PHONE NUMBER NOW!
I wish you would have offered up the BH GC for here first!
May I ask what is wrong with posting my cell phone number? I do real estate for a living, and I list my cell number on craigs list for apt listings.
mlrproducts
Jul 28, 2006, 02:19 AM
May I ask what is wrong with posting my cell phone number? I do real estate for a living, and I list my cell number on craigs list for apt listings.
To each is own I guess.
You must have had more luck than the nutcases I've dealt with on eBay in the past, no to mention those being able to see it who don't do a deal with you.
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 03:48 AM
"Dear davidcl2,
Thank you for your recent auction-style listing. You listed the following item:
300011993386 - Apple MacBook Pro 17" 2.16ghz/1GB/120GB/ Intel Core Duo
Unfortunately, eBay removed your listing. All fees related to this listing have been credited to your account. We also notified members who placed bids on the item that the listing has
been canceled.
The listing was removed because it violated the eBay Inappropriate Links policy. The violation occurred when you included the following information in your listing:
www.apple.com
"
WTF! Now I have to relist it on friday and have it end on monday night :(
liketom
Jul 28, 2006, 06:06 AM
"Dear davidcl2,
Thank you for your recent auction-style listing. You listed the following item:
300011993386 - Apple MacBook Pro 17" 2.16ghz/1GB/120GB/ Intel Core Duo
Unfortunately, eBay removed your listing. All fees related to this listing have been credited to your account. We also notified members who placed bids on the item that the listing has
been canceled.
The listing was removed because it violated the eBay Inappropriate Links policy. The violation occurred when you included the following information in your listing:
www.apple.com
"
WTF! Now I have to relist it on friday and have it end on monday night :(
thats harsh IMO
Ebay is getting worse
MacRumorUser
Jul 28, 2006, 06:52 AM
It is harsh BUT.... there has been a huge amount of Apple products listed on Ebay that have been bogus. As someone who paid for a Powermac G5 - only to find out I had been ripped off and seemingly no resolution or help from Ebay, its nice to see them finally trying to curb it, but it is a pain for legit sellers.
Wish you all the best in your sale mate, great laptop and a great seller from past experience... :)
mlrproducts
Jul 28, 2006, 09:53 AM
I think you got some competition trying to knock you off!
I didn't know that you could get the auction taken down for linking to information about the item, as I do it all the time! Oh sh*t!
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 09:57 AM
It is harsh BUT.... there has been a huge amount of Apple products listed on Ebay that have been bogus. As someone who paid for a Powermac G5 - only to find out I had been ripped off and seemingly no resolution or help from Ebay, its nice to see them finally trying to curb it, but it is a pain for legit sellers.
Wish you all the best in your sale mate, great laptop and a great seller from past experience... :)
How does posting a link to www.apple.com make the auction "bogus"? I think eBay has stepped it's boundries. Too bad I couldn't sell the macbook pro on macrumors before listing on ebay :( BTW GUYS, the listing is on auto-schduel to go back up tonight (this time without a link to apple.com, lol).
ITASOR
Jul 28, 2006, 10:06 AM
How does posting a link to www.apple.com make the auction "bogus"? I think eBay has stepped it's boundries. Too bad I couldn't sell the macbook pro on macrumors before listing on ebay :( BTW GUYS, the listing is on auto-schduel to go back up tonight (this time without a link to apple.com, lol).
I wonder if you posted it as Apple.com, and not a link if they would find it. That's stupid IMO, what if you just want to say you bought it in February at www.apple.com and it's still under warranty or something...
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 10:15 AM
I wonder if you posted it as Apple.com, and not a link if they would find it. That's stupid IMO, what if you just want to say you bought it in February at www.apple.com and it's still under warranty or something...
Good point! I think ebay doesn't even look at the context, they just have a computer snoop around and cancel auctions when they have links. Btw, why can't ebay just not submit the listing when it has a link (I could have then edited the listing and be done with it).
MacRumorUser
Jul 28, 2006, 10:42 AM
Good point! I think ebay doesn't even look at the context, they just have a computer snoop around and cancel auctions when they have links. Btw, why can't ebay just not submit the listing when it has a link (I could have then edited the listing and be done with it).
:eek:
Oh I thought you must have cut and pasted direct info & pics from Apple (that's usually what those bogusy type ones do)....
Jees I guess they just robot spider the listings and www.apple.com is blacklisted, when detected (regardless of context) it just automatically cancels the listing......
That is stupid, I wonder if it really is a crack down or have apple put some pressure on ebay for some unknown reason?? WEIRD....
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 11:10 AM
I say we all pool up our computing resources and create a competitor to ebay ;-)
mlrproducts
Jul 28, 2006, 12:12 PM
I say we all pool up our computing resources and create a competitor to ebay ;-)
Good luck, although I truly hope it happens in my LIFETIME! I seriously think you may have had someone else selling the same thing, and they reported you to get it kicked.
I stopped taking Paypal on items over $500. I tell them that my feedback speaks for itself, and thus far all the items have sold just fine (or I take MoneyBookers.com for online payments - which, btw is great for int'l transactions.)
JBot
Jul 28, 2006, 12:15 PM
I say we all pool up our computing resources and create a competitor to ebay ;-)
with sales of computers and parts only?
Thats sounds like a really good idea actually.
or does this already exist?
Hahaha i actually think we have an idea here.
DavidCL23
Jul 28, 2006, 06:56 PM
with sales of computers and parts only?
Thats sounds like a really good idea actually.
or does this already exist?
Hahaha i actually think we have an idea here.
Lets make an eBay for just macintosh parts ;-) Then we branch out to other items. This way we can steal the market nice and slowly, give ebay a pro-longed death :)
mlrproducts
Jul 28, 2006, 07:17 PM
Lets make an eBay for just macintosh parts ;-) Then we branch out to other items. This way we can steal the market nice and slowly, give ebay a pro-longed death :)
Yeah but if it was based on Mac parts, then they'd all sell b/c there would only be cheap@$$es like us MR folks!! LOL! I enjoy the fact that people overpay on fleabay!
vBulletin® v3.6.10, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.