PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth becoming a ADC Student member?

gangst
Aug 9, 2006, 06:44 AM
Hi,

I'm new to programming, so new in fact I don't have a clue.
I would like to get into programming for my own uses, and read about an ADC student membership. I know this may be jumping too quick but by becoming a member you are entitled to savings on new Mac products.

What kind of savings are you entitled to, as I am considering a MacBook Pro, and if there is a big saving this may sway me. So for a 50 membership I could save several hundred pounds.

Also I'm in senior school, so I guess I'm entitled to a studewnt membership, seeing in the past I have always purchased from the Student Store.

Thanks

NATO
Aug 9, 2006, 08:10 AM
Apart from the obvious access to developer materials via the ADC website, it offers you a once-in-a-lifetime (literally!) discount on computer hardware (seems to be around 20%) which could help buy a MBP or Mac Pro cheaply. Also, although it doesn't seem to be official, student ADC members tend to get a free copy of an OS X release should one occur during your membership.

I'm going to wait until I'm ready to buy a Mac Pro AND OS X 10.5 (or 10.6!) is due for release that year to make the most of it.

It's certainly good, but be sure to check the ADC Price against the Higher Education price of products as there might not be that much difference, especially with the lower end products

Edit - Don't forget that the UK Higher Education store offers a free 3 year warranty vs standard 1 year warranty with an ADC purchase.

Palad1
Aug 9, 2006, 08:19 AM
You forgot the best part.

A free Apple T-shirt ;)

Mac Rules
Aug 9, 2006, 08:22 AM
I'm so tempted to join, it would mean I could actually get a MBP foraround75% of the RRP, but I think I'll wait until next spring, hopefully by then MBP will have a new form, Santa-Rose implimentation and a better graphics card + increased HD size and speed!

Oh, and of course Leopard!

Cheers

peter32892