PDA

View Full Version : Help! AppleCare Repair Changed My Password!!!




Donz0r
Aug 10, 2006, 09:43 PM
I can't log in. Jut got my macbook back from repair. I tried using the OS X install disc to reset the password, but on "Macintosh HD" there's no user accounts, therefore no passwords! But I can't log in! It asks for User Name AND Password.



atticus1178
Aug 10, 2006, 09:44 PM
If you can't change it from the boot disc then call Apple.

Seems like the only logical thing you do, unless you reinstalled OS X.

generik
Aug 10, 2006, 09:46 PM
You can try starting MacOS in console mode (I think you gotta hold down the sqiggly symbol + S at startup?) and then copy everything in your home directory out. Then you reinstall MacOS :rolleyes:

Anonymous Freak
Aug 10, 2006, 09:57 PM
Yup, sounds like a reinstall to me. If the boot disc says there are no user accounts, then there's nothing there for you to log in with.

Although... They MIGHT have enabled root. Try logging in as 'root' with no password.

If it's asking for a username and password, rather than a list of users, then it was set to do that. That seems like an odd thing for AppleCare to do.

Donz0r
Aug 10, 2006, 10:23 PM
Yup, sounds like a reinstall to me. If the boot disc says there are no user accounts, then there's nothing there for you to log in with.

Although... They MIGHT have enabled root. Try logging in as 'root' with no password.

If it's asking for a username and password, rather than a list of users, then it was set to do that. That seems like an odd thing for AppleCare to do.

Thanks, although I've already started the reinstall of tiger.

hayduke
Aug 10, 2006, 10:28 PM
I recently sent my PBG4 in for a video hardware problem. I was *appalled* when they asked for my username and password. My jaw dropped and it took me a second to figure out how to respond. I thought that was such a huge breach of any decent security protocol. I had to think for a while whether I was violating HIPAA (health privacy rules in the US...I work in academic medicine...I wasn't) and if I actually trusted AppleCare to root around my account. Is this even reasonable?

Wouldn't it make more sense to have Apple ask that you create an "AppleCare" account with a password of their choice? You could test the username to make sure that the problem persists. If not, then it is likely a software problem and I don't think (correct me if I'm wrong) that AppleCare is going to fix a software problem.

There's got to be a better way.

Thoughts?

Macky-Mac
Aug 10, 2006, 10:35 PM
Thanks, although I've already started the reinstall of tiger.



well it's too late now but.....in similar situations I've discovered that the password space was left blank when the repair guy set up the computer and after much frustration I was told to just leave the password blank when logging in.....seems that you don't have to have a password if you dont want to......OK, I forget which version OS X that was under so it might have changed

Anonymous Freak
Aug 10, 2006, 11:50 PM
Wouldn't it make more sense to have Apple ask that you create an "AppleCare" account with a password of their choice? You could test the username to make sure that the problem persists. If not, then it is likely a software problem and I don't think (correct me if I'm wrong) that AppleCare is going to fix a software problem.

There's got to be a better way.

Thoughts?

That's what I do.

But, AppleCare can get in to your account if they really feel like it, anyway. Just boot the computer into 'Target Disk Mode', and all permissions go out the window.

lcseds
Aug 11, 2006, 07:54 AM
I get this all the time. People bring in a notebook for me to service and no password. Like locking the door and taking the keys with you when you drop your car off for service.
No you don't need to provide a password, just don't expect the system to be tested in your OS environment. which is where the problem may lay with your unit.
Techs do not change passwords, but it may be changed to a blank one. Many Apple customers call saying their password is changed. We tell them to leave the field blank and continue.
As far as HIPPA is concerned, once you sent the notebook in with patient info, you are in violation. Data can be retrieved from you drive without your password or your permission. Drives that contain that data must be removed before sending the system out.