Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daniel77

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 13, 2002
seattle, wa
what do u think would be the best way to spend 1800 USD on a mac product(s)?

btw I am a student in high school

i am thinking like a refurbed ibook with a combo drive, for say 800, and then an ipod for 400, making 1200, and then maybe using the leftovers to buy ram, mac necesary software, and a few accessories.

what do u guys think

NavyIntel007

macrumors 65816
Nov 24, 2002
Tampa, FL
Although, for $1250 at the education store you can get an superdrive emac along with a $370 10 GB ipod. The question is are you willing to sacrifice portability for a Superdrive and a faster bus?

yzedf

macrumors 65816
Nov 1, 2002
Connecticut
Wait on the iPod. $400 is a waste of your money for what is essentially a toy. The money is better spent on a better computer that will be of more use to you for a longer period of time. G4 eMac will be a better machine 3 years from now (think OS XI or whatever... may not run on a G3) than the iBook will be. Not to mention the physical durability factor of a desktop vs notebook.

Don't forget about sales tax and shipping costs too ;)

alset

macrumors 65816
Nov 9, 2002
East Bay, CA
If you are set on a notebook, get either the iBook (they're great machines!) or a refurb PowerBook. Then you will have cash to spend on enhancements, such as a scanner, printer, or even a descent digital camera. If portable music is a must, invest in high-end headphones.

iPod is a luxury I do without by playing tunes through my iBook. This may or may not suit you.

Dan

Vlade

macrumors 6502a
Feb 2, 2003
Meadville, PA