Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jvaska

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 18, 2002
just found this site...love it...

i know people are over on apple.com/support going ape over this but i can't seem to solve the problem.

my ATI drivers are casuing hell on my g4...i recently upgraded to OS 9.2.2 and now upon boot my computer just hangs at startup. i've turned off the ATI Graphic Accelerator extension and the problem goes away...but now i got a slow refresh which sucks (i'm a designer and this is a real headache).

i've installed the updated drivers from ATI with no changes...

help?!!! anybody know of anything else i can do?

also...i have Nvidia extensions too...are these for a different graphics cards that i don't even need?

another thing i've noticed...why does the update install an ATI Radeon extension too...do i need this?

confused and sad...my computer is great otherwise...waiting for the next big thing to come along (g5 maybe) before i buy a new one...but i've had this thing for nearly two years...i have yet to even max it out...

thanks in advance for any good help/advice...jv

Durandal7

macrumors 68040
Feb 24, 2001
Turn off the Nvidia extensions, they are for GeForce cards and the like. Turn off the ATI Raedon extension unless you have a raedon card. Turn off any other video extensions that you aren't using. That's about all the advice I can give you.

jvaska

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 18, 2002
yep

did those things...in the last 12 years i've never had a mac problem i couldn't fix...

i'm hearing about so many problems with everything these days...i'm probably going to wait a year and a half before going to OS X because i don't have time to deal with tech problems and run my own little design firm at the same time...