Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anto38x

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 19, 2006
Cork, Ireland
To whom it may concern..
I'm about to purchase a new MacPro Quad Core 3GHz system with 8GB of RAM (I currently have another thread running looking for advice on which display to purchase. The cost isn't the issue just the pros and cons). I'm a graphic designer who uses photoshop extensively and I'm also getting more and more into video and dvd presentations using imovie, idvd and Final Cut Pro & Motion. I currently have a Dual 2.0GHz with a 4GB of RAM (which is excellent). Can anyone tell me for sure if by buying the additional RAM it will impact significantly on the speed etc.

I was going to purchase my 8GB's from http://www.datamem.com/AMM22.asp. Has anyone dealt with them before... any feedback and will their memory be easy to install in the new MacPro? I have never done this... but I don't want to fork out €2,500 for the same equivalent from Apple through their BTO system.

Thanking you in advance...

Anthony
Irish MacUser and MacAddict

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
You will get better performance out of the FB-DIMMs when only the first bank in each channel is populated (4 slots), so you want to get your memory estimate right from the beginning.

iMeowbot

macrumors G3
Aug 30, 2003
Photoshop doesn't like being on a system with more than 4GB. It will run, and Adobe offer a plugin to deal with the freezing problem, but that has potential drawbacks too. This isn't the end of the world, but you'll want to keep it in mind.

Here's an explanation of the issue, and here's the plugin. This article explains what is going on in more detail.

iGary

May 26, 2004
Randy's House
iMeowbot said: