PDA

View Full Version : Logos




Tech607
Aug 27, 2006, 11:36 PM
I made a Company logo in Print Shop. Now I want to use it on a color sheet of paper and i can't find a way to get rid if the white background. Using Photoshop seems out of the question because the logo is made up of mostly test and it is hard to erase around text.

Is there a way to get rid of the background easily in PhotoShop? Or is ther some other software I can use and just recreate the logo using it. The logo will not be really hard to reproduce.

Thanks!



iMeowbot
Aug 27, 2006, 11:54 PM
Could you just zap the background with the wand tool with contiguous off? If the image is simple, that may be all you need.

Tech607
Aug 28, 2006, 12:21 AM
It has text in it and trying to use the wand tool to delete the background seems to be making my text to thin. I also do not know how to make the background transparent.

iMeowbot
Aug 28, 2006, 12:27 AM
Can you post the original somewhere?

Also: to get the transparency, you'll want to first make the background into a layer. The wand has sensitivity and anti-aliasing options to deal with the thinness problem, but it's hard to tell what will work blind (or if you'll need a redraw).

etoiles
Aug 28, 2006, 01:59 AM
Sometimes, you get better results using one of the channels as a selection rather than the wand tool (also, if you use the wand tool, make sure to adjust the anti-aliasing level for best results).

if your logo is just black on white, you can just ctrl-click on an existing channel to get the perfect selection. If it is not quite black on white, you will have to duplicate a channel and tweak the levels (maybe manually fill in some areas) to make sure it is all black (unselected) and white (selected).

as iMeowbot said, show us the logo so we can be more specific.

20rogersc
Aug 28, 2006, 05:24 AM
I made a Company logo in Print Shop. Now I want to use it on a color sheet of paper and i can't find a way to get rid if the white background. Using Photoshop seems out of the question because the logo is made up of mostly test and it is hard to erase around text.

Is there a way to get rid of the background easily in PhotoShop? Or is ther some other software I can use and just recreate the logo using it. The logo will not be really hard to reproduce.

Thanks!Are you saying that you want to print it onto a coloured piece of paper!?
If so, it won't print the white anyway.

Sorry if I totally misunderstood your question.

::20ROGERSC::

iminimac
Aug 28, 2006, 09:02 AM
if what i understand your asking
if you have the photoshop file with the layers
look in the layers and find the background one and just select that layer
and then you can paint bucket whatever background colour you want on it and that will fix that problem

Tech607
Aug 29, 2006, 09:54 PM
I am not really good with PhotoShop so I need things explained in more detail. But to restate my problem, I created the logo in PrintShop. When I saved it it was saved as a jpeg so I could use it with other programs but the drawback is that it has the white backgroung attached to it.

So if I try to use it on a colored document in another program the white box shows with the logo in it.

This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?

ChicoWeb
Aug 29, 2006, 10:15 PM
I would redesign it in Adobe Illustrator.

20rogersc
Aug 30, 2006, 06:51 AM
This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?Can print shop save them as GIFs or PNGs?
These two will both allow transparent areas in the image.

::20ROGERSC::

MacBoobsPro
Aug 30, 2006, 07:56 AM
I am not really good with PhotoShop so I need things explained in more detail. But to restate my problem, I created the logo in PrintShop. When I saved it it was saved as a jpeg so I could use it with other programs but the drawback is that it has the white backgroung attached to it.

So if I try to use it on a colored document in another program the white box shows with the logo in it.

This is my problem. I need to know if printshop can save this logo with a transparent background? If not what program will do this for me? Or how do I make photoshop do this?

Post the file somewhere and I'll look at it for you and tell you how to do it. :)

Tech607
Aug 30, 2006, 07:34 PM
Post the file somewhere and I'll look at it for you and tell you how to do it. :)

I sent you the link in your message box stuartluff.

Thanks

Tech607
Sep 3, 2006, 04:19 PM
By George I think I got it. I started a new transparent file in Photo Shop. Then transfered each piece of the logo seperately and aranged it again on the transparent layer. It worked when I saved it as a tiff file.

Thanks for all you guys help! It was greatly appreciated!

iVersa
Sep 3, 2006, 04:39 PM
I would redesign it in Adobe Illustrator.

Bingo.

Logos in photoshop = big no no.