PDA

View Full Version : g4 raid without controller?


silv
Mar 24, 2003, 03:09 AM
hi

i've got a qs933 and i wonder if i can use the standard-ide-controller to get a raid system...
do i really just have to install 2 harddrives and connect the two drives to a stripe-raid with the disk-tool and then it works? without an additional raid-controller?
or do i need an additional raid-controller?

thanks!

Nipsy
Mar 24, 2003, 04:44 AM
In OSX, Disk Utility supports striped RAID without a card.

In OS9 & X, SoftRAID does the same.

The Siig ATA133 RAID card supports hardware RAID, and is only about $120.

silv
Mar 24, 2003, 05:28 AM
cool. thanks!

do you also know how fast this "standard-raid" is?
is it as fast as an additional raid-card?
any tests? benchmarks?

thanks!

benixau
Mar 24, 2003, 05:57 AM
software RAID = approx 5-10% gain (RAID0)
hardware RAID = approx 15-20% gain (RAID0)

just get the card. You will be happer too as you mac's HDD is probably ATA-133 anyways.

software RAID is for cheapos. besides - hardware RAID (at least adaptec cards) have more options than a software RAID.