Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pcuserx

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 12, 2003
In February for my birthday I bought a 700 mhz brand new iBook from my local reseller via loan. After a week I got pissed at the small screen and returned it for an eMac without thinking first. Now I'm jealous of all the stuff laptops can do and am thinking about switching again but buying a cheap monitor as well. Problem is if I return it now there is no way I could possibly return it again, and I'm not sure how I'd feel being stuck if it didn't work out.

I'm a student in highschool and I don't really have a need for portability. It'd be nice to be able to do work outside or while watching television or in bed as well as taking it to do work in Chapter's or when I go to my father's hosue (who already has a pc desktop there) but it's not like i have a need to take it places.

I am also unsure about the G3 and the ibook's inability to upgrade. Will the next os work on g3? What about the os in 4 years? Will any games work on G3 in a year or two? Even with 640 ram?

So to recap:
-I use computer for 3-5 hours a day
-I don't have a NEED for portability
-I will not get a new computer for 4 years
-I will want to run the latest os and play at least some games at decent speeds all this time

Would you recommend I switch back to an iBook? Or stick with eMac? Sorry to bother you, thanks for your time in reading and replying.

MacAztec

macrumors 68040
Oct 28, 2001
San Luis Obispo, CA
My advice

Return the emac, and spend a little more cash and get a powermac.

If you can return the emac for $, do it and get a used powermac somewhere. That would be best.

NavyIntel007

macrumors 65816
Nov 24, 2002
Tampa, FL
Stick with the eMac.

I rarely take my iBook anywhere. The portability is nice, but you won't miss it with the extra speed.

By the way 300th post.

FelixDerKater

macrumors 68040
Apr 12, 2002