PDA

View Full Version : [HELP] Intel Mac Mini Apple Remote Issues




idicula
Sep 23, 2006, 09:16 PM
Hey guys,

I bought a used Intel Mac Mini and I was having issues getting the remote control to work. Heres what happens:

I hit the menu button to activate Front Row but the only thing that happens is the screen goes dim (like when you activate Expose) and the Apple Remote shows up with zzz's. I've attached a link to a videoclip, you can see it here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4dASM5pb-I)



jlewis2k1
Sep 23, 2006, 09:32 PM
hmm that is a bit odd ... it sounds like its a software issue. I would check to see if there is a simple fix on apple's support site.

nagromme
Sep 23, 2006, 10:14 PM
I know you can HOLD the menu button to make your Mac sleep. Is that ZZZ icon used in that situation?

Maybe it thinks you are holding the button down longer? Weak battery? Stuck button?

jlewis2k1
Sep 23, 2006, 10:25 PM
Actually ...

1) Play/Pause puts the computer to sleep
2) Play and Menu pairs the remote to the computer

idicula
Sep 23, 2006, 11:00 PM
I know you can HOLD the menu button to make your Mac sleep. Is that ZZZ icon used in that situation?

Maybe it thinks you are holding the button down longer? Weak battery? Stuck button?

Really! Thats interesting because thats what it does, it goes into sleep but I'm not holding the button. I just tap it and it goes right into sleep mode. I went out and got a replacement battery but it didn't help at all. Something that I found in the users manual dealt with the issue of pairing the remote with the mini. The thing is when I go to System Prefs/Security at the bottom I can't even unpair the remote. Do you guys think there's something wrong with the remote or the IR. I tried searching for this on the net but no luck.

idicula
Sep 23, 2006, 11:01 PM
i tried pairing it using the method posted above. No luck though, will keep trying.

Thanks

nagromme
Sep 24, 2006, 12:17 AM
It sounds like it could be either hardware or software... is there an Apple Store (or fellow Mac-owner) near you? You could try pairing your remote with a different Mac and see how it acts.

Actually ...

1) Play/Pause puts the computer to sleep
2) Play and Menu pairs the remote to the computer
Oh, right.

Holding the menu button is for Boot Camp (OS selection meny during startup).

idicula
Sep 24, 2006, 05:31 PM
anyone have any other ideas? I'll be going to an Apple Store today will let you know how that goes.

jlewis2k1
Sep 24, 2006, 05:50 PM
three things i would say, a lemon remote or simply a problem with the software on the mini or bad infered.

nickelbackmac
Sep 24, 2006, 05:55 PM
I have software for my Mini's remote, "mira". It sets which buttons do what on your remote. I got it from Apple's download page, find it and see if it helps by changing the functions around.