Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dcv

macrumors G3
Original poster
May 24, 2005
I'm about to build a website for my sister's new business. I'm an application developer so I know my DHTML/XML etc but have only ever worked on corporate intranet applications and never actually built a website in my life!

So far we have bought a domain name. Er, what do I do next? :eek: I need to find someone to host the site - any recommendations? I'm based in the UK if that makes any difference. I just clicked onto uk2.net but I have no idea about how much web space I'd actually need, or monthly traffic, etc :confused:

The site will contain company contact info (remember this isn't a personal website), news, client biographies and there will be downloadable content (video/audio clips) which will obviously take up some space. (How much? I don't know yet.)

What do I need to look for in the web host?

Apologies for the completely stupid n00b questions*... any advice/recommendations or links to existing useful threads here or external sites would be greatly appreciated. Cheers :)

*and oh god, there will be more...

dpaanlka

macrumors 601
Nov 16, 2004
Illinois
Well Dreamhost is ridiculously cheap if your ok with occasional short spasms of downtime.

$10 a month for 20gb of space ant 1TB of bandwidth and like 650 or more email addresses, plus every week that you continue being a customer they add more storage space and bandwidth.

Apple2Mac

macrumors regular
Sep 3, 2006
If you are looking for simple inexpensive hosting I like IXWebHosting

They both provide multiple domain hosting per account, PHP, ASP and MySQL...

Flowbee

macrumors 68030
Dec 27, 2002
Alameda, CA
dcv said:
Apologies for the completely stupid n00b questions*... any advice/recommendations or links to existing useful threads here or external sites would be greatly appreciated. Cheers :)

Well, there's this thread...