PDA

View Full Version : powermac g5 w/o BT,AP.. can I add them?




bearbo
Sep 27, 2006, 03:57 PM
If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!



pocketandy
Oct 25, 2006, 12:41 PM
Yes try: http://www.applemacparts.co.uk/store/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=bluetooth+airport+powermac&x=0&y=0. It's not cheap though. The card is installed in 1.42Ghz iBooks and I pulled one out of one I repaired with a broken screen. then I just had to get the runway card and stand offs which is also available from VIS. Now I'm looking for a guide to install it. I might try and work it out for myself. I might create a guide.


If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!

Macmadant
Oct 25, 2006, 05:58 PM
If I land a powermac g5 2.0 dual, late 05 built w/o bluetooth or airport, is it possible for me to install them myself, that is, will it be possible for me to purchase airport card and bluetooth card from apple (if so how much?) and put it in myself? thanks!

A bluetooth USB dongle won't Set you back much either

pocketandy
Oct 26, 2006, 03:46 AM
True but it won't give you airport capabilities. Look at this string I found all of the info to install the card there. It is not difficult if you aren't scared of poking inside a computer. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=179232