Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Regular-John

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 3, 2006
Sheffield, England
Hi All

I'm fairly new to recording with the mac. I'm thinking of buying a digital recorder like this, or maybe something like this, would I get better quality tracks through something like this or would my iMac [please see sig. for spec.] be better??

Also, are the Jam Packs worth it? I feel like the drum samples currently bundled with Garageband are a bit limited, I need more loops and samples, rock oriented. Does the Rhythm Jam Pack have a lot of drum samples in 'rock' vein?

Thanks in advance.
RJ

mooncaine

macrumors regular
Dec 19, 2004
Always, always, always go with the external recorder instead of recording with your computer. Always. Far fewer probs, headaches, or even minor irritations when you do your recording on a dedicated recording device.

The Boss recorder's your best option of the 2 you showed.

Regular-John

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 3, 2006
Sheffield, England
Thanks for those replies!

That loop site is a good find! Thin k I'll wait til their download store is up and running!

I see why you said the Boss is the better option but I just prefer having an on screen display!! I'm kinda steering towards the Lexicon Omega for that very reason.

Any other suggestions are very welcome!!

mooncaine

macrumors regular
Dec 19, 2004
You did say your criteria for choosing included quality. You'd rather trade away quality [less background noise, for a start] and reliabilty for a large display? Up to you....

scottlinux

macrumors 6502a
Sep 21, 2005
Always, always, always go with the external recorder instead of recording with your computer. Always. Far fewer probs, headaches, or even minor irritations when you do your recording on a dedicated recording device.

I couldn't disagree more. $700 for that little recording job box? What a waste of money.