PDA

View Full Version : any routers out there with a built-in 56k modem?


vniow
Apr 7, 2003, 03:49 PM
Yo.

I'm trying to get my Linux box online but since I only have a Winmodem, it's a real pain in the ass and a lot more trouble than its worth. Windows has no problem, but I'd really like to learn Linux and its sorts useless without internet.

I could (and have) use my iBook as a gateway by connecting it to my PC through a crossover cable, but then I'd have to leave it on and plugged in all the time for my main machine (PC, sorry guys) to stay connected to the internet.

I know that I could get an internal hardware based modem that would work with Linux and still use the crossover cable to connect the two, but that doesn't fare too well for being a 'real' network so its harder to configure everything and blah blah.

Are there routers like this that even exist?

Doesn't have to be wireless since I don't have that and I do realize that Apple's base stations have a modem, but they're also expensive.
I'd like to spend less than $100 on this and if the only ones that exist are more than that, then I'll just wait it out.
Needs to be tri-platform compatible, Mac, Windows, Linux.

Thanx.

-V

Kwyjibo
Apr 7, 2003, 03:57 PM
before i got cable i asked the same questions and found that the airport is the only basestation i've ever seen or anyone has heard of with a 56k modem.

Sun Baked
Apr 7, 2003, 04:09 PM
Webramp used to offer a dual modem and a dual modemless (use your own modem style) version along with a single modem one. I think the company died though.

Netgear still has one for sale. Way too expensive new.

vniow
Apr 7, 2003, 09:51 PM
Guess I'm out of luck then unless I can find an Airport basestation for less than $100.

<sigh>

yzedf
Apr 8, 2003, 10:11 AM
http://www.linmodems.org/