PDA

View Full Version : upgrading a hd in a powerbook pismo




macg4
Oct 2, 2006, 01:42 PM
i recently swapped out the orginal 12gig apple brand hd with a newer(2005) 60gig Hitachi (Travelstar). http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=42184&item=180022745357
sometimes it acts goofy when trying to load 10.3 or 10.4 on it. any normal pc 2.5 hd size should work with my pb pismo correct? it doesnt have to be an apple brand...anyway tonight im gonna totally reformat the drive with apple software when i try to install os 10.4 again...i was thinking of using an external firewire case and putting a apple brand 24x cd drive in there, and install os 10.4. might go smoother



Superlat
Oct 3, 2006, 05:06 AM
i did this job at home in June. I bought an 80gig toshiba at Fry's.The main trick that stumped me for a while was popping out the cd-drive with the front lever.
I actually partitioned the HD, and run 10.4 on one part, and 9.1 AND 10.2 on the other. No problems so far....As much as I'm dying for a faster CPU, my pismo is still pretty juicy. I cant rationalize the CPU upgrade, but when I hear all these probs with overheating current MBPs, I'm ok to be on the sidelines.
Of course, I cant use Reason 3.5, Motion, HD format in Final Cut, etc.
Renders take FOREVER. otherwise, its a snappy machine with both modem and wireless capability.

macg4
Oct 3, 2006, 08:22 AM
yeah last night i used my external case(with a mac 24x cd drive) and loaded both 10,4 and 9.2.1 on the 60gig hd. its running like a charm