Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JHacker

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 27, 2006
East Coast
I'm currently 20 years old and in college. I took an intro to computing class that introduced us to web design, and went on to learn most of what I know by myself.

Both of these websites were coded 100% by hand. No Dreamweaver or anything like that. I would like to start using Dreamweaver eventually, but I want to get a grasp of coding by hand first.

The first site I built for a friend who owns a DJ company. And the second I built for my own band.

I also would like to start learning flash as well. Let me know what you think. Remember, I'm not a professional so don't be too harsh!

AJH Entertainment
Where's Patty?

Thanks-
J

Stampyhead

macrumors 68020
Sep 3, 2004
London, UK
They look good, nice and clean. My only criticism is with the first one, where the music starts playing when the site loads. That's a pet peeve of mine, and bad form in general, to have loud music start playing when the site loads. It's best to allow the user the choice whether or not they want to listen to the music after the page is loaded.
Since you do so well with hand coding, Dreamweaver probably won't offer you much, except allowing you to work faster if you are a visual person. If you're good and hand coding and relatively fast at it I would just stick with that and save yourself $300.
But overall, good work. Keep it up!

billyboy

macrumors 65816
Mar 15, 2003
In my head
JHacker said:
I'm currently 20 years old and in college. I took an intro to computing class that introduced us to web design, and went on to learn most of what I know by myself.

Both of these websites were coded 100% by hand. No Dreamweaver or anything like that. I would like to start using Dreamweaver eventually, but I want to get a grasp of coding by hand first.