Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macnoviz

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006
Roeselare, Belgium
Hi, I was just asked by a producer from a French public channel (France 3, I guess) to use a clip I made in his program. It's some sort of candid camera thingy. It was part of a video report of a school trip to London, and during our trip home, we did this with some friends as a practical joke.
I uploaded it to YouTube and that's where he found it.

Now he asked for a broadcast quality version, and he is willing to pay for research (which was basically an inspiration of the moment) and for the broadcast rights.

Obviously, I'm very new to this stuff. I prepared a DV stream and avi video of it. but what I wanted to ask you guys was wether I should charge anything, and if yes, how much.

Are there any other things I should know about this stuff?

Macnoviz

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006
Roeselare, Belgium
2nyRiggz said:
Indeed, make some money(If he is willing to pay) plus beef up your resume. I can't give you a price but this could be a foot in the door for you so go easy with the price.

How about letting him decide how much to pay?

Texas04

macrumors 6502a
Jul 2, 2005
Texas
I would go with letting him decide but make sure that he is a reasonable person and not just a buisness man... he might under charge you and just use you... :-/ So in that case I would set a price

But if he is a good guy and a reasonable person, go ahead and let him set the price and have a happy deal :). This would probably allow better communication and yes, put your foot in the door. Sometimes meeting him face to face and help this. Give a good impression :)

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
Macnoviz said:
How about letting him decide how much to pay?
keep in mind, you're never going to be offered more than he thinks is too little....